Fiesta Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was such a good meal. The meat mixture is like a mini meatloaf. Trying to find nice "pepper boats" to hold the goodies was a challenge at the produce market, but the meat mixture stayed together so nicely. I did not have all the salsa called for in the recipe so I used what I had mixed in the meat mixture then poured a small can of V-8 juice over all (my Romanian Grandma used to use this with her stuffed peppers and cabbage rolls). Sprinkled cheese on top at the very end of cooking time and what nice compliments from all! DO NOT PRECOOK THE MEAT. All the flavors meld together. Will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Tasty. I actually cooked the meat first (because I didn't read the directions right) so I only had to bake them for 30 minutes. I also topped them with cheese and then added more salsa and a little sour cream once they were cooked. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Excellent! Although I made a few changes. I used small yellow, orange and red peppers (appetizer style), 1lb of meat, more salsa, and instead of white rice, I cooked up a mexican rice dish (you can get a package mix) and stole some from that, and added cilantro to the mixture. The cooking time was also shortened by about 20 minutes. Will definitely make again, and take to parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a really good recipe. You can be as creative, as you please. I chose to lightly brown the meat. Along with the onion, I added chopped garlic and cumin.Didn't think the egg was necessary...so I left it out. Pre browning the meat enabled me to cut back the cooking time, by about 15-20 mins. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I love this recipe! My husband and kids love it, too. I pre-cooked the meat, then rubbed the peppers with olive oil and baked them for 30 minutes before filling. We melted some pepper jack cheese on the top...sooo good! This is surely a keeper for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I didn't read very well and cooked everything first but it turned out fantastic! I carmalized my onions, added some mushrooms and then beef with some spices. When beef was cooked i added half of the salsa and let it simmer for a bit. Becasue everything was cooked I had to figure out a way to soften the peppers (as this would have happend over the hour they were in the oven). So I just boiled some water and tossed them in for around 3 minutes. After draining them, I stuffed them put the rest of the salsa on top and heated them up for about 10-15 minutes. It was yummy. Maybe next time I'll try it the way the recipe says :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Instead of meat, we cooked veggie burgers (morningstar garden veggie patties) and crumbled them up (no egg needed). These were wonderful with Newman's black bean & corn salsa, a little tomato juice, and some corn! We also roasted our peppers with olive oil for 20 minutes and sauteed the onions with Pam before stuffing. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
...I used leftover taco meat and brown rice. Just mixed with a handful of grated cheddar and a little salsa (forgot the egg). Prepared 2 green peppers by cutting from top to bottom...removed the seeds, boiled for 3 mins and drained...Once stuffed I spooned a little extra salsa on top, covered with foil and baked for 30 mins...topped with more grated cheddar and back into the oven until melted. VERY flavorful! I served with corn on the cob (just threw them in the same pot of water I cooked my peppers in) and tortilla chips. Great way to use up that leftover taco meat..Thanks Lisa M for a great dinner idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Quick to put together, but I wouldn't say it is tasty. I found it lacked flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Really liked this recipe. I adjusted the recipe a little by adding 1 carrot and 1 onion ground up in the food processor to the beef mixture. We couldn't taste them at all but it increased the number of vegetable servings in this meal. I also added a little bit of taco seasoning. The next time i make this I will skip the egg. Definitely a hit around the table, we will make this again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States