Fiesta Fry Pan Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was REALLY GOOD!! I did make some adjustments based on what I had in the house. I used a jar of salsa, added olives and precooked the rice (didn't use the instant) with some cinnamon, ginger and cumin. After cooking, I added the rice to the sauce and served sprinkled with cheese. SO YUMMY!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow! Can you say B-L-A-N-D? I don't know if it's because I used turkey instead of ground beef but this meal had no flavor! And this is after I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. My boyfriend had to dice up a habonero pepper to give his flavor and I had to put extra salt on my meal twice. LOL! If I were to ever make this again, I think I would use salsa instead of the stewed tomatoes, add black olives, maybe add some chopped chili peppers... anything to give it flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe as written and while we found it to be somewhat bland we all agreed it had potential. The second time we made the recipe, we used a box of Spanish Quick Rice instead of plain instant rice, added a can of Ranch Style Beans, and "some" garlic powder. When I served this with sour cream, guacamole and a side of tortillas, the family was thrilled! It'll be on our repeat list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I used hot/spicy taco seasoning and it was plenty seasoned. I used jasmine rice. Since I cooked my rice seperately I left out the water in the turkey and just added the cooked rice in the last 5 mins. I also cooked my zucchini seperate to get it fully cooked through. Everything complimented nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this dinner! Made a few simple changes and came out great. Used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies to give a little kick. Didn't have zucchini, but added some sliced black olives instead. Did not have plain instant rice, so used a packet of Lipton Rice and Sauce Mexican Rice and only about 1/3 packet of taco seasoning. Came out just fine using the directions that were given! Sprinkled in a little ground ancho chili toward the end and topped with sour cream. My son absolutely loved it, and we're already working on other possible add-ins. Can see that it would be a bit bland without the chilies, but if you prefer a milder taste I'm sure it would be good as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe was OK. The taco seasoning gives it that Mexican flavor. I found and made this recipe because I was looking to use up my zucchini but I must say that I think the other reviewers are right in saying that it can be left out and beans would be better in its place. Nonetheless a great way to sneak in vegetables for picky kids or husbands. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Made this the other night and it was a good, quick dinner. I could not find my taco seasoning so I made my own with spices and it was good. Also, I sauteed the zucchini before I added the water, just to give it a little color. This was just for my fiance & I and it made PLENTY. We will have it for leftovers, wrapped in a tortilla with sour cream. I love easy, weeknight meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My entire family loved this! We couldn't use cheese on a portion due to my sons allergy and he loved it as much as we did. I did make a few modifications. I used 1/2 taco seasoning packet, seasoned with garlic and used 2/3 of a jar of salsa instead of the tomatoes. The kids love zucchini but even if they didn't you cannot taste it so it is a great way to sneak in the veggies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I was looking for a way to once again, use up some of my zucchini. Didn't use the onion because I was out, but my kids don't like onion anyway. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed. A couple of use put the mixture on tortillas and some of us just scooped it up on tortilla chips. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was great. I used yellow squash instead of zucchini b'c that's what I had. Also, instead of instant rice I already had a bowl of leftover long-grain rice in the fridge so I just mixed that in. I put helpings of the mix into tortillas and rolled them up. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States