Fiesta Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great soup! I think next time I'll add more chicken broth so it's a little more "soupy"! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
A nice place to start. For the most part I started out following the directions. I did replace the bell pepper with diced canned chilies as I didn’t have a pepper on hand and thought the mild chilies were in keeping with the ‘Fiesta’ theme. I also used hominy in place of the corn, just personal preference. When the soup was done I did a taste test and although good, it simply didn’t shout FIESTA, I personally prefer a more spicy and robust flavor. I proceeded to add cumin, oregano, fresh minced garlic, original Rotel tomatoes and a wedge of jalapeno pepper. I removed the jalapeno and discarded after the soup had simmered a bit. I also increased the amount of broth. I made my own chicken stock and added the rice directly to the pot. I had made lobster stew for my husband and made this soup for myself, as he doesn’t care for hominy. For lunch we were having leftovers, hubby took a taste of this soup and fell in love with it, had to heat him a bowl! Said he liked the hominy in this dish! What a shock! Give the hominy a whirl, its bland flavor compliments the spicy flavors and the chewy texture makes for a nice comfort food. A definite keeper with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
The soup was okay. Not exactly what I'd call a fiesta. Adding lime juice directly to the soup helped. Also real garlic instead of powder is best. It was quick to make, I'll give it that much. I dunno, it needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I have this recipe "almost" but I add a couple of sliced carrots, celery, fresh garlic, fresh jalapeno and a can of Rotel, undrained. I also use 2 or 3 cans of broth. In other words, it is a really good base soup and you can add whatever your family enjoys, to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I have this recipe also, but I add 1 jalepeno at the beginning and saute it with onion, and garnish with shredded cheese and cilantro.. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is an excellent and easy to make recipe. I passed it on to several friends who have enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very good! I added a can of black beans and about a cup of salsa. I also added some cumin. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
So easy to make and tasty - I didn't alter the spices at all. I doubled the recipe for an event at my daughter's school, and I used one red and one green pepper for added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very tasty and easy to make recipie. I substitute pasta (angel hair or thinner) for the rice and sometimes just use 1/4 to 1/2 a cup broth to season the veggies and pasta. This makes it a great pasta dish when you're not in the mood for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I had to double the amount of chicken broth in order to make it "soup," which in turn made it bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States