Fiesta Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I had to double the amount of chicken broth in order to make it "soup," which in turn made it bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
it made me kinda upset that it wasn't more of a soupy like soup. It tastes great but I would add more chicken broth for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
A nice place to start. For the most part I started out following the directions. I did replace the bell pepper with diced canned chilies as I didn’t have a pepper on hand and thought the mild chilies were in keeping with the ‘Fiesta’ theme. I also used hominy in place of the corn, just personal preference. When the soup was done I did a taste test and although good, it simply didn’t shout FIESTA, I personally prefer a more spicy and robust flavor. I proceeded to add cumin, oregano, fresh minced garlic, original Rotel tomatoes and a wedge of jalapeno pepper. I removed the jalapeno and discarded after the soup had simmered a bit. I also increased the amount of broth. I made my own chicken stock and added the rice directly to the pot. I had made lobster stew for my husband and made this soup for myself, as he doesn’t care for hominy. For lunch we were having leftovers, hubby took a taste of this soup and fell in love with it, had to heat him a bowl! Said he liked the hominy in this dish! What a shock! Give the hominy a whirl, its bland flavor compliments the spicy flavors and the chewy texture makes for a nice comfort food. A definite keeper with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very good! I added a can of black beans and about a cup of salsa. I also added some cumin. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I have this recipe "almost" but I add a couple of sliced carrots, celery, fresh garlic, fresh jalapeno and a can of Rotel, undrained. I also use 2 or 3 cans of broth. In other words, it is a really good base soup and you can add whatever your family enjoys, to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This soup was great after I added some things to it. I increased the amount of the rice and water and then added jalapeno peppers to it. It helped spicy up the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Add one can of rotel (undrained) to make it spicier and soupier. I also sauted celery in with my onions and used real garlic. I threw in some diced fresh mushrooms as well. It tasted really good and the rotel really gave it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
So easy to make and tasty - I didn't alter the spices at all. I doubled the recipe for an event at my daughter's school, and I used one red and one green pepper for added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I have this recipe also, but I add 1 jalepeno at the beginning and saute it with onion, and garnish with shredded cheese and cilantro.. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great soup! I think next time I'll add more chicken broth so it's a little more "soupy"! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States