Fiesta Cheese Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very yummy! I made just one change, actually. Instead of three cups of water and chicken bouillon, I used three cups of chicken broth (about one and a half of the small cans of Swanson). Easy and tasty, the kids devoured it! If anyone has put off trying this because they're worried it's too spicy, it was very mild. If you like spicy, I'd add some chopped jalapeño. You would never guess it's so easy to make. I hope this gets some more reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Oh man where to start. THIS WAS GREAT! I boiled some chicken and shredded it and put it aside. I then used 2 cups of the chicken stock fom the boiled chicken and added only one cup of Jamine rice and the can of tomatoes. Cover and let cook 20-25 minutes. Then I added the sour cream and cheese and stired in the chicken. This was a complete meal with tortillas. THIS WAS AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Chazarreta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was great! I made it as directed and served it with the Swiss Enchiladas (best authentic enchiladas ever) from this site. Yum! After serving up the rice, I found that adding a spoonful of salsa to it made it even more wonderful. I highly recommend this recipe for ease, convenience, and taste! **Just an update, I've made this recipe several times and now, when I need less, I cut the rice and water to a 1 cup each, add a 14.5 oz can of Rotel and 1 tsp chicken granules (or more to taste). I cook it up, add a few dashes of cumin and often leave out the sour cream and cheese completely. Foolproof, quick, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
LOVED THIS!!! Although I made several additions and did not follow the recipe, turned out GREAT. Cook the rice before mixing all ingred. I added the following all to taste: diced roma tomatos (instead of the can of diced tomatos with green chilis), FRESH cilantro, canned green chilis, ground cumin, jalepeno salt, salt & pepper, diced red & green bell peppers, corn, and a few tablespoons of chicken boullion just for moisture (don't forget the sour cream, I used light). Mix all ingred and bake at 350 for about 20 min or until warm/hot. I used organic brown rice and if I had had a can of black beans, probably would have added it as I think it would have been extra good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Skipped the high sodium chicken bouillon, used green onions and some garlic salt as seasoning. Also used about half the cheese and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oh this turned out to be sooooo good! :-) I made it exactly as written, except that I stirred all the cheese into the rice to distribute it, instead of just sprinkling on top. I also used vegetable boullion instead of chicken. It cooked up quickly and with minimal fuss, and was a great, mild (but flavorful!) compliment to our vegetarian enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great recipe with a lot of flavor. I was very surprised to find this recipe had so much flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was great. Used a bullion cube and used regular white rice, not instant. The addition of sour cream is what got me...I love what sour cream does to food. This went perfect with beef enchiladas. I also used Sargento's reduced fat mexican 4 cheese blend. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This one surprised me with its yumminess quotient. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and boiled a chicken breast to shred and add in with the sour cream and cheese. I used water from that instead of straight water in the recipe. I think I used a little less cheese too, because I was running low. Very good! My 22 month old son gobbled it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I did everything this recipe asked for, (with very few changes) and it was amazing. Everyone I made it for LOVED it. First I ground up some cubed chicken bouillon cubes and measured that as the tablespoon needed. Instead of the diced tomato with green chiles can I used a tomato and oakra can since everyone in the family loves it when we just heat it up to at alongside rice. I did what one of the reviewers above said to: To add all the cheese and mix it together instead of adding some on as a crust later. All in all, the recipe was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States