Fiesta Cheese Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of water and a boulion and followed everything else... This was okay - the flavor was boring to my family. I would never ever call this side dish "spicy"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I thought this was great. I took a large amount of it to a baby shower and everyone raved and asked for the recipe. However, it is not spicy at all, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
LOVED THIS!!! Although I made several additions and did not follow the recipe, turned out GREAT. Cook the rice before mixing all ingred. I added the following all to taste: diced roma tomatos (instead of the can of diced tomatos with green chilis), FRESH cilantro, canned green chilis, ground cumin, jalepeno salt, salt & pepper, diced red & green bell peppers, corn, and a few tablespoons of chicken boullion just for moisture (don't forget the sour cream, I used light). Mix all ingred and bake at 350 for about 20 min or until warm/hot. I used organic brown rice and if I had had a can of black beans, probably would have added it as I think it would have been extra good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made an alteration because I had a can of diced tomatoes with oregano, garlic and basil. My husband and I thought it was good. My children, however, did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I think this would be even better with Pepperjack, Colby, and/or Monterey Jack cheese. In addition to a chicken bouillon cube, we also added a couple tsp of Mexican Adobo Bouillon granules for a great authentic flavor. Served with Southwest Chicken from this site and a spinach & tomato salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Wasn't crazy about this rice. It reminded me of some type of gooey casserole that my mother made back in the day that I didn't want to eat. I guess it might be good if you just had a bit, but it was just too much to eat as a major side dish. Not impressive enough for guests--guess I should have known by the ingredients...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Once in a while, my kids love to have a "build your own burrito night" or soft taco night. I had been looking for a side dish for these evenings and this is it! It was so good and so easy! I followed the recipe exactly-no changes needed. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
delicious and very very easy! a definite go-to side dish, and I like the other reviewer's suggestion to add chicken and make it a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Good! Instead of the can of tomatoes and chilies, I used about a cup of salsa. Oh, and instead of using the microwave, I did this: I put the water (I used around 2½ cups instead of 3) and bouillon in a pot on the stove, brought it to a boil, stirred in the rice and salsa, popped the lid on the pot, and removed it from the heat for around 8 minutes. I then stirred in the sour cream and all the cheese (I used a shredded Mexican blend). Quite good, similar to a salsa rice recipe I've used... I like the addition of so much cheese! Thanks for sharing, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I used 3 cups of chicken stock instead of the buillion, just what I had handy. Next time I'm going to cook the rice on the stovetop- microwave didn't seem to make it as tender as I prefer. But that's the only change I'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Stancil

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States