Fiesta Cheese Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used vegetable broth instead of water and a boulion and followed everything else... This was okay - the flavor was boring to my family. I would never ever call this side dish "spicy"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I thought this was great. I took a large amount of it to a baby shower and everyone raved and asked for the recipe. However, it is not spicy at all, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
LOVED THIS!!! Although I made several additions and did not follow the recipe, turned out GREAT. Cook the rice before mixing all ingred. I added the following all to taste: diced roma tomatos (instead of the can of diced tomatos with green chilis), FRESH cilantro, canned green chilis, ground cumin, jalepeno salt, salt & pepper, diced red & green bell peppers, corn, and a few tablespoons of chicken boullion just for moisture (don't forget the sour cream, I used light). Mix all ingred and bake at 350 for about 20 min or until warm/hot. I used organic brown rice and if I had had a can of black beans, probably would have added it as I think it would have been extra good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made an alteration because I had a can of diced tomatoes with oregano, garlic and basil. My husband and I thought it was good. My children, however, did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I think this would be even better with Pepperjack, Colby, and/or Monterey Jack cheese. In addition to a chicken bouillon cube, we also added a couple tsp of Mexican Adobo Bouillon granules for a great authentic flavor. Served with Southwest Chicken from this site and a spinach & tomato salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Wasn't crazy about this rice. It reminded me of some type of gooey casserole that my mother made back in the day that I didn't want to eat. I guess it might be good if you just had a bit, but it was just too much to eat as a major side dish. Not impressive enough for guests--guess I should have known by the ingredients...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Once in a while, my kids love to have a "build your own burrito night" or soft taco night. I had been looking for a side dish for these evenings and this is it! It was so good and so easy! I followed the recipe exactly-no changes needed. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
delicious and very very easy! a definite go-to side dish, and I like the other reviewer's suggestion to add chicken and make it a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Good! Instead of the can of tomatoes and chilies, I used about a cup of salsa. Oh, and instead of using the microwave, I did this: I put the water (I used around 2½ cups instead of 3) and bouillon in a pot on the stove, brought it to a boil, stirred in the rice and salsa, popped the lid on the pot, and removed it from the heat for around 8 minutes. I then stirred in the sour cream and all the cheese (I used a shredded Mexican blend). Quite good, similar to a salsa rice recipe I've used... I like the addition of so much cheese! Thanks for sharing, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I used 3 cups of chicken stock instead of the buillion, just what I had handy. Next time I'm going to cook the rice on the stovetop- microwave didn't seem to make it as tender as I prefer. But that's the only change I'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Stancil

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States