Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Yum (but WOW were these ever S-P-I-C-Y!!!)! My hubs and I enjoy heavily spiced foods, but even he commented that these would knock anyone's socks off lol. :) Having said this, I'd change nothing. Simply put, you either enjoy spice or you don't. If not, skip this recipe in favor of one that better suits your tastes. The spiciness of the fish combined with the fresh salsa is what makes this recipe unique. If you alter ANYTHING, you won't appreciate this for what it is (but that's just my opinion). NOTE: If you can find jicama, DON'T SKIP IT!!! It is ever so slightly sweet and as many others have noted, adds a nice contrast / crunch to the salsa. I also strongly suggest that you GRILL your corn, allow it to cool slightly and then gently cut the kernels off the cobb. There's just something about slightly charred, grilled corn that says summer is here and this is the perfect use for it. Other than halving this and adding a touch more lime juice / pinch of salt to the salsa, I made no significant changes. I will however reduce the amount of cilantro next time (a cup's worth was a tad overpowering, IMHO). A squirt of sour cream and fresh lime were refreshing touches and are a MUST even for us folks who easily tolerate heat. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe with the AR community, Louise. I'm sad that I waited so long to give this a try! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Amazing. There isn't anything that I would change about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johanna727
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I loved it, it was delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlingeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love Love loved !!! So delicious and refreshing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I would highly recommend Jenn's Catfish Sandwich Sauce with this instead of the sour cream. We added black beans, and used frozen corn in the veggie salsa, which worked out well. Marinating the white fish in olive oil, chili powder and lime juice was lovely. Thank you for the advice rhooster! I made my non fish eating husband chicken tacos with the same spice blend sprinkled during cooking and it was again excellent. Do take the time to consider a chipotle mayo instead of the sour cream, the veggie salsa compliments it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
crazy good! the only thing I would change is to back off on the cayenne for the seasoning. other than that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a keeper! It is spicy, I may cut back on the spices but my husband loved it the way it was. I have been looking for a great salsa recipe and found it in this recipe, the corn salsa is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Wow...I totally disregarded the amounts of cayenne, salt, etc. I think it's a typo because that is WAY too much of both for this amount of fish. Maybe it's supposed to be teaspoons? Anyway, the salsa was fabulous and so fresh tasting. Wonderful foil to the spicy fish. Lots of sour cream, the salsa, fresh corn tortillas slightly warmed - fish taco heaven! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 61-70 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States