Fideo (Mexican Spaghetti) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I substituted Roma tomatoes with a can of diced tomatoes and used ángel hair pasta instead of spaghetti. I also used a can of chicken broth and some water and added about a tsp of cilantro. Served in a bowl with a couple tbsps in the middle and sprinkled with cheese and some chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delmd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
My Family and I enjoyed it but isn't like my mothers. Don't think i will ever make it the same way she does. I will be making this Fideo again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Rushmeyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Living In: Edwards, California, USA
Photo by TLW
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe, using canned tomatoes with green chilis. I also doubled the cumin and chili powder because I really like those flavors. This is a very good recipe, but I felt it just needed more spice. I also used fideo pasta, which is basically vermicelli broken into pieces about 2" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My son challenged me to find a "Mexican spaghetti" recipe and I found this. We all liked it. Not our favorite dish but it is good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Simple and good. I don't put meat in mine. I will add extra broth next time as I am used to it being soupier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Oh my goodness-my kids really loved it! I took the advice from a reviewer to use Roteli tomatoes & chilis and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Loved it, but other half did not I would make again just for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I did change a few things. I added canned white meat chicken instead of fresh because that is what I had on hand. I also added black beans, corn, canned tomatoes with chilis and some colored peppers. I kicked up the chili powder too because my husband LOVES spicy food. Came together very quick and tasted wonderful. Kind of strange when you start putting things together but comes out amazingly tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by latiina
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
i grew up eating fideo as a side dish, mostly with mole. i've never had cheese on it though. i finally made it my first time, but almost as if i was making my spanish rice, but sub'd fideo noodles. i browned the onion and 2 garlic cloves, then brown the noodles. i added chicken flavored bullion to my water and seasoned with seasonings listed plus cayeene pepper, garlic powder. i also added mushrooms since i needed to get rid of them before going bad. my first try taste better than any other fideo i've had before. i put mine in tortillas with crema and queso fresco, an idea i got from a cooking show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latiina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
If you like it spicy I would add a little more chili powder but over all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithabea77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States