Fettucine with Heavenly Salmon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I has great potential, but as written it was not that great. The lemon gave it a weird taste! I would either cut it way down or omit it completely. The sauce was too thick with "stuff". I had to add more sour cream and cream (I used nonfat sour cream and non fat 1/2 & 1/2). I think I used 1 1/2 cups cream, and 1 cup sour cream. I also used 4 small cloves of garlic...should have used more. I topped it with smoked red peppers and tomatoes. I will definately try this again, but I'll have to tweak it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Wow, this was great! I followed the recipe mostly, except not as rich. I used low fat on the sour cream and and 1/2 cup white wine instead of the cream. I also added salt. I was tempted to cut back on the black pepper, but the full 1/2 t. gave it some real zip. We all loved this and I will definitely make it again -- and for company. Served it with grilled zucchini and a spinach/mandarin orange salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
We all thought this was very good. Even from my picky 11 yr old. It came together very easily. I used tomato basil linguine instead of fettucine, as other reviewers stated it was bland. I also added some salt to the sauce and a very small amount of sherry (after tasting per recipe). With those changes we loved it. Oh, I also used extra garlic (we love it) and less lemon zest. A very nice meal, but a little rich. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I made this dish for a dinner party and WOW was it a hit!!!! It's a great dish for company because it is so simple, SOOO quick, and very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harley Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
The first time I made this it was surprisingly bland - considering the "heavenly" aroma from the ingredients while it's cooking. I also found it wasn't "saucy" enough but rather dry. However, something about it made me want to try it again, so this time I used 2 huge cloves of garlic, increased the cream and sour cream to 1 cup each and added a cup of fresh grated parmesan. It was better, yet still not as flavourful as I had hoped. But my 2 young kids ate it without complaint and I enjoyed it enough to finish my plate. I'll probably make it again sometime, maybe with smoked salmon instead of fresh and see if that adds to the flavour. Thanks for the recipe, Annas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was just OK. I thought it was pretty bland, which was a surprise. It was a little greasy and for me the salmon taste overwhelmed everything else. I like salmon, but it just didn't work right in this dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
My husband has sworn off shrimp linguine, so this was a great substitute "fish with pasta" meal. I added some chopped asparagus to the skillet in the first step, along with some mushrooms. I also grated some fresh parmesan cheese, and added fresh ground peppercorns. Definitely a dinner we'll enjoy time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I made this recipes having high expectations for the flavor. I was disappointed. For all the work and ingredients I should have just made a simple alfredo sauce. I couldn't taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This receipe was great, although, I did change it quite a bit. Duirng the first step of cooking the salmon, garlic, and onions, I added mushrooms, and sun dried tomatoes. Then, I let it cook about 5 more minutes and added spinach. I then added the sauce. The taste was great, but because I cooked more noodles then sauce, I added some alfredo sauce (prepared in the jar). It was great. Received rave reviews. Thanks for a great receipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Good recipe. The only thing I changed is added some Italian cheese to the top to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States