Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Oh so good! I mixed the leftover sauce with the pasta and it was even better the next day! Here are the changes I made: used more onion, closer to 1 cup instead of ½. I substituted fresh basil and used about 4 times the required amount. I used a can of inexpensive Hunts spaghetti sauce and froze the rest so it’ll be handy the next time I make this recipe! I used a pre-packaged Farmer John ham steak which made for plenty of meat and a good smoky flavor. I wanted larger mushroom chunks so I cut each one into thirds. Finally, I used small shells instead of linguine. The recipe made plenty and two of us hardly put a dent into the sauce. My only problem is that it took forever for the sauce to cook down. We finally ended up eating it before it had reduced to 2/3. Even though the sauce was a bit thin, it was delicious and I plan to make it again. The only thing I’ll do different is add more red pepper flakes since I like it spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was very good, but my husband and I both were turned off by the rose color of the sauce. I will make again, but will leave out the speggetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
excellent recipe. Leftovers even warm up well the next day. It seemed like the flavor got stronger sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made this for the second time tonight and we just love it. I follow the recipe exactly except I had fresh flat leaf parsley so I chopped that and added it and it really added to the eye appeal. The only prepared ingredient is the red sauce and if you use a high quality one, you can't go wrong! I used Classico Tomato and Basil because it has less sodium than many jarred sauces and it is delicious. I agree with the reviewer who opined that you need to use dried oregano and basil leaves or flakes, not the powdered version. I do not really know what six slices of ham means but I just use a lot of ham and eyeball it. I cut it into 1/4 to 1/2 inch chunks. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
tastes nice but the colour isn't very good. orangey, like a school lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powpow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I really enjoyed this sauce. It is rich and spicy. I found that 1/2 the mushrooms were plenty and I am a mushroom lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good. Family hates a cream sauce, and I get tired of the same old red sauce. This is a nice compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
WOW! This was great! My whole family loved it. I used leftover ham and followed the recipe as is. If you have leftovers they are just as good as the 1st. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was excellent! I'm always trying to get my 3 and 5 year old to eat their pasta with sauce. This one was a hit with my 3 year old! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is a good starting point but needs a little work. I added freshly grated parmesean cheese to the sauce and that made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States