Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was really good. I kinda forgot that I didn't really like mushrooms that much so I'll definitely omit that next time. Instead of using heavy cream I just mixed 2 % evaporated milk with cornstarch and I swear to you it tastes exactly the same. I'm not like a health food nut or anything but I just wanted to try something different. Totally worth it! It's a really good sauce so you could probaly sub the ham with different types of meats. I'm going to try shrimp next. I also used one green pepper and used half the amount of seasoning called for. And oh yea, this recipes is definitely missing something... Parmesan Cheese! It really added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Everyone ate this meal but no one was impressed. I triple checked and made sure I followed the recipe and didn't miss ingredients. This just didn't turn out anywhere near what we expected. The leftovers were better than the orignal serving at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Another family favourite that's ready in no time. Serve with a green salad and some nice Italian bread and job's a goodun'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Oh my, what a sumptuously sinful dish this was! Great for when you want to completely annihilate any semblance of whatever diet you may be on. Used portobello mushrooms and egg noodles, both of which went perfectly, and I didn't really measure, just threw it together with whatever proportions looked right. I'm already planning to make this for the significant other, it'll knock his socks off, not to mention guarantee that he'll be mine forever. Oh yeah, this dish is really that tasty. Forget the diet and try it tonight.. You know you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I had all the ingredients on hand, and substituted half & half for heavy cream, which still lent a satisfying "creaminess" to the dish. The red pepper flakes are an awesome touch, but be careful with it! My husband was absolutely delighted with the meal. It's refreshingly different, and delights the taste buds - Kay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used mushrooms, zucchini, and green pepper as well as the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this for a group of women and children - 1 batch with ham and the other without for vegetarians in the group. It was loved by all. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Oh so good! I mixed the leftover sauce with the pasta and it was even better the next day! Here are the changes I made: used more onion, closer to 1 cup instead of ½. I substituted fresh basil and used about 4 times the required amount. I used a can of inexpensive Hunts spaghetti sauce and froze the rest so it’ll be handy the next time I make this recipe! I used a pre-packaged Farmer John ham steak which made for plenty of meat and a good smoky flavor. I wanted larger mushroom chunks so I cut each one into thirds. Finally, I used small shells instead of linguine. The recipe made plenty and two of us hardly put a dent into the sauce. My only problem is that it took forever for the sauce to cook down. We finally ended up eating it before it had reduced to 2/3. Even though the sauce was a bit thin, it was delicious and I plan to make it again. The only thing I’ll do different is add more red pepper flakes since I like it spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was very good, but my husband and I both were turned off by the rose color of the sauce. I will make again, but will leave out the speggetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
excellent recipe. Leftovers even warm up well the next day. It seemed like the flavor got stronger sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States