Fettuccini Alfredo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe was great! I made a few changes, but my boyfriend actually likes it better than the original! I sauteed sliced shallots and chopped garlic in olive oil for about 4 minutes. I added 1/2 cup of white wine and let that simmer and reduce - about another 5 minutes. Then I added the evaporated milk and let simmer for 12-15 minutes. In a blender I pureed the shallot/garlic/milk mixture together with the cream cheese and poured back into pan on the stove. I added nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste, 1/2 cup non-fat milk and started slowly adding the parmesan cheese, stirring frequently. I probably added closer to 3/4 cup of cheese. I didn't need to use any cornstarch as it thickened well on its own. Served with whole wheat fettuccini, grilled chicken and steamed broccoli. Very tasty and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Awesome...I don't like all the fat in regular alfredo, and they're too rich for me anyway...this one is perfect. Just a note - the sauce does thicken as it stands, mine seemed a little thin at first, but I tossed it with some angel hair pasta and let it sit for 5 minutes, and it got nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
Add a little white wine (about 1/2 cup)to the evaporated milk and some chopped fresh basil and parsley and this sauce is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great healthy version that is still very creamy! I also added nutmeg and white wine per reviewer suggestions. Mixed in pan-sauteed chicken strips and broccoli - so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I used laughing cow cream cheese, fat-free evaporated milk and 2% milk and no corn starch making the sauce 127 calories per serving, plus the pasta. needs more flavor, maybe some more spices. great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHRISTICHIWA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe, but it was a little sweeter than we expected. We added shrimp, but next time I'll try adding white wine as well. I submitted a photo of our final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This recipe needs a little work. First, there are WAY too many noodles for how little sauce the recipe makes. The flavor turns out ok, but it took me a long time to get the sauce the right consistency, rather than really watery. Once it was the right consistency, there was only about half as much as I needed for the amount of noodles I made...and I made less than the recipe called for! Next time I will make 2x as much sauce, same amount of noodles, and add more cream cheese and corn starch. It has a good flavor once everything matches up though...but it made for a long night of cooking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
For me, the recipe took over an hour to cook and prepare. The time is well worth it because the sauce is so creamy and delicious. My whole family loved it and we will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was all right. I loved the idea of using non-fat evaporated milk instead of butter and cream. I think I'll make a few changes to get just the right flavor, (I think it needs a little salt) but I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
The dish was ok, nothing spectacular. But considering that it's low fat, it's not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States