Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I'm a college student with not much time on my hands, and this recipe was perfect for that! I did doctor the recipe a little bit because the sauce was too bland. I recommend using a little garlic powder, salt, seasoning salt, and pepper throughout to give it some more flavor. Other than that it was great! I served it with steamed broccoli and garlic bread. Everybody who ate it loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent sauce!!! I was a little skeptical of the hot sauce but it added some excellent flavor and was not overly noticeable. I didn't have any minced garlic so I used some garlic salt and added a little pepper too. Also, used shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated and it took a while to melt but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was a wonderful, easy recipe for Fettuccini Alfredo! My husband absolutely loved it, and I thought it was great as well! Our suggestions: We also started out by sautéing the garlic in butter before adding the flour. We halved the recipe (made it for two) and added a little less butter and more milk until we got the consistency we wanted. This helped to thin out the sauce (it started out a bit thick for our taste) and also cut down on the fat a bit! We grilled some boneless skinless chicken breasts and chopped them into strips and added those to the pasta after the noodles had already been coated with the sauce (there is not a ton of sauce and if you add the chicken first, they will soak up all the sauce and leave none for the noodles!). This was a very, very simple recipe and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I was looking for an economical version of Alfredo sauce to prepare for a large reception. I made this to test it, and I am impressed. This is delicious! I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is a simple, classic recipe and an old standby that I can play with depending upon what I have in my pantry. I followed one suggestion and sauteed the garlic and red pepper flakes before adding an extra bit of olive oil and the flour, and making the roux. Then I added the butter (I used soy margarine) and stirred, and then the milk (I used skim) and stirred. I brought the mixture just to a boil (and as suggested, watch it carefully! milk boils fast!) to incorporate the oil (beforehand, the oil had been floating on top...) before adding the Parmesan (and I used plain ol' powdered Kraft in the can, and I'm not sure I even had 1/2 C). I tasted as I went, and the red pepper flakes gave it a lovely zing so I omitted the hot sauce. Mine was more grainy than "velvety" (probably because of the powdered Parm) but it thickened nicely. I used it over 2 packages of fresh ravioli, broccoli flowerettes and salad shrimp. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Good considering it's only milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This recipe is great. I made it this weekend for my boyfriend and he ate almost the entire thing. It's definitely a keeper! I did add more garlic and some basil at the end. Also, I added cooked chicken breast. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe was very good and super easy! It took less time to make the sauce then it did to boil the noodles. It was a little thick, but it may have been that it simmered too long while I waited for the noodles to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very simple recipe, I found this really easy to make. I added extra garlic and extra cheese. I also added some mixed herbs. I will definitely be making this again as my boyfriend absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Malvern, Worcestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I made this for lunch just now for my father and sister. It was very good. And I'm a slow cook, and I got it done in 15-20 minutes, from the time I started getting everything together until it was on the plate. I'm glad I found a recipe that is really easy and doesn't take much time... And it wasn't even lumpy (I cannot make gravy)!!! Next time I will add some more seasoning, like Oregano and Parsely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States