Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This sauce was super easy and tasted terrific. Nice and thick and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe to use as a base, and add to it. This is what I did: In a saucepan, I sauteed some freshly minced garlic, fresh basil, a dash of salt, and some crushed pepper in olive oil. After a few minutes, I poured it into a cup and set it aside. I then made the roux with 4 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp water. I added the cup's contents, the milk, cheese, and then made a bit more of flour and water (probably 1/4 c. flour made into a somewhat viscous liquid, to thicken it up even more, but this can be remedied with more milk if it's way too thick). I let it bubble a bit, then simmered for about 15-20 minutes. While it was simmering, I added more fresh basil, pepper, garlic, salt and even more cheese, because you can never have enough of all of these flavors. This is pretty versatile, because you can make it as strong or mild as you want without really screwing it up. The sauce was flavorful, thick, and went well with whole wheat pasta noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
i followed the recipe as written but it wouldnt thicken for me until i made a paste with some flour and some of the sauce. i made sure to cook it long enough after adding it so it wouldnt taste like raw flour. i did add some frozen peas and some cooked and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was good but not memorable. I added a lot more cheese than called for and white pepper for some more flavor -- but it's a good basic sauce to start with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I tried this recipe recently when I felt like some Alfredo pasta, but didn't have any heavy cream to make my usual Alfredo sauce. This was a pretty good alternative. Feel free to add more hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was great! I needed a recipe for school for a fund raiser. This was so easy to make and it was delicious. I tripled the recipe and held the sauce in a crock pot on Low. We then ladled the sauce over Pasta with either Pasta or Broiled Scallops. I first tried this recipe at home for Chicken Alfredo. Because my husband has lactose problems, I substituted Soy Milk. This recipe was so quick, easy and simple, I will add it to my bag of tricks when I need a quick meal. For a quick dinner idea, purchase a deli cooked chicken. Cook the Fettuccini Alfredo and stir in cubed cooked chicken. Add a side green salad to balance out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokazodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hatteras, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I followed the advice of the first rater and put crushed red pepper in the with the roux.... and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Not bad! Just needs a little more salt and parmesan cheese to make it restaurant good! We doubled the recipe and used it for 2 lbs of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErikaRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
alright,but it was just bland & tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bake 4 fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was great - simple to make and delicious! I used crushed red pepper instead of hot sauce, and I added canned peas at the end. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States