Fettuccini al Fungi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Agree with others that these pasta are a bit bland. Needs more garlic, pesto and cream cheese! Parmesan would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Oh . This pasta dish is the truth. I added a few squeezes of basil paste as I had accidentally added more mushrooms than the recipe called for. Also the sauce took a long time to thicken so I added a bit of Parmesan cheese to give it some more body. It was really incredible. I found white mushrooms work just as nicely as crimini. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
By reading the reviews I was able to adapt this recipe to our tastes, so giving it 4* may not really be fair. I tasted this as made and thought it to be too bland, so I added 2 more TBSP of pesto, 2 more large garlic cloves and a very large amount of freshly ground black pepper. For the sauce I used 1 cup of skim milk + 1/4 cup of fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and 1 tsp cornstarch. The sauce was perfect as far as sticking to the pasta. It was not runny as some others found. Since we had some leftover for another meal, I added about a cup of cut up rotisserie chicken to it before reheating. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Extremely bland, not nearly creamy enough even though I substituted half the milk for heavy cream and tripled the cream cheese. I also used half a head of garlic and it still had no flavor. I think all the liquid in the mushrooms boiled the flavor out of the garlic so I would recommend sauteeing the mushrooms first until the liquid is gone, then add the garlic. Also up the pesto, at least double it. A huge helping of parmesan cheese also increased the flavor, I used a little over a cup added to the whole mixture and it still wasnt enough. It was a good and healthy idea, but a boring and bland execution. Next time I make this I will use alot more garlic, replace all milk with heavy cream (so much for healthy) and add red pepper flakes, more pesto, and about 1.5 cups parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
read earlier reviews and added more cream cheese and pesto. Pretty good recipe I used it with fresh mushroom fettucini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great recipe -- I love it because it's lower fat than some of the creamy pasta recipes. I eyeballed everything, and added an extra spoonful of cream cheese and one of pesto too. I also added more cloves of minced garlic & some red pepper while I cooked the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought this was excellent! I used 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of half and half to make it a little creamier. I also added a pinch of Herbes de Provence because my jarred pesto didn't have quite enough oomph. Even though it was quick and easy, it makes for a very elegant meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made the recipe as written. Very quick, easy and tasty. I'll make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
before making it i read the review and added garlic, pesto and cream cheese to taste. All the family loved it and compared it to a very good restaurant dish. thank you for that recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Very good with a few adjustments. Added some onions when sauting the mushrooms. Added more pesto and cream cheese. Used half and half instead of milk. And you must add about 2T or more of white cooking wine. I served it with some steak marinated in italian dressing and it was awesome!!! This will now be in my recipe box:) Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States