Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I thought this was a good dish. I will use it again and add other veggies to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Loved this. It is NOT too runny--it reminded of sauces I have eaten in Italy and in authentic Italian restaurants here. The starch in the pasta thickens and the pasta absorbs--maybe the thin sauce people rinsed their pasta? Just a thought. I sued whole wheat penne because that's what I had--perhaps the sauce sticks better to penne? Another thought! I used one jumbo bell pepper, fresh mushrooms sautéed in a little olive oil and wine and a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach. I did it this way because my store went from $1 each to $2 for a red bell pepper and thought, "no way, that's outrageous, I'll stretch it another way," and in fact, I am glad I did because there was plenty of bell pepper flavor in the dish with the added bonus of other textures/flavors and it took no more time really. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Enjoyable. A few notes however. 1. I think onions were needed. I added a medium onion, cut in half and thin sliced (maybe just a bit less of medium); but, I think it needed the flavor. I sauteed that with the red pepper. 2. I did use olive oil vs a spray, it needed that little bit of fat. 3. Garlic, I did add more; the recipe WAS FINE as is; just a personal taste, I love garlic. NOT necessary to add more. 4. THE SAUCE IS NOT RUNNY, it is just fine 5. I do NOT add the sour cream with the broth to simmer. Sour Cream should NOT be cooked. Add the broth, reduce the heat to low, and simmer 5 minutes until it reduces slightly. Remove from the heat, then add in the sour cream and mix to combine. The heat will warm it right up. 6. Toss with the pasta, however; it does need something green. I added plenty of fresh parsley and fresh basil. 7. Tasty good as is. But, I added chicken to make it a complete meal. I had grilled some chicken before, and thin sliced. It was excellent tossed with the pasta. The second time I made it, I didn't add chicken, but added 1 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms which I sauteed with the peppers and onions. Both were very good. The recipe is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Churchill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I'm taking summer classes in my college and don't have a meal plan so I was interested in some quick easy foods I can make my self. I have literally made and eaten this dish happily for lunch EVERYDAY starting May 13th (it's June 10th) and don't plan on stopping. Very quick and I love spicy food so it's a perfect combo for me. I added a bit, at the beginning of the week I prepare some kitchen on a flat stove with sesame oil (any oil will work, sesame was all I had access to and it tastes great) and recently have been adding a bit of Tiger Sauce seasoning to the chicken. I store it in tupperware in the the fridge and pull it out every lunch and toss some already cooked sliced chicken breasts in the sauce at the very end, then add a bit more tiger sauce seasoning. Tastes great, gets you some meat in the dish if the peppers and pasta aren't filling you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I don't know how "healthy" this dish is, but it's very good, easy and quick. Although calories were reduced by using the low fat sour cream (I used fat free), I believe the parmesan cheese and sour cream still hold their fair share of calories! I ate a small helping, coupled with a large salad and staying within my eating plan for weight reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
So easy to make, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this and plan on keeping it in our regular rotation. It was an excellent meatless dish. I only made a couple of additions but nothing that changed the recipe. An extra clove of garlic, 1/2 an onion and an extra shake of cayenne. Very nice light dinner. I also followed the advice of other reviewers, I tossed the sour cream in at the end. Thank you for sharing. 9 WW plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was a very good basic recipe. To bump it up a bit, I substituted some of the broth with a 1/4 cup white wine. After simmering with the sour cream, I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh basil and 1/2 pound of cooked shrimp and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. It turned out very well, but could be improved by perhaps adding a 1/2 cup of the pasta water to keep the pasta from sticking together. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Loved it! Only a couple changes: Only put in 1/4 t cayenne. I used an onion instead of the bell pepper because that's all I had. I can't wait to add bell pepper next time, but I'm keeping the onion! Also, the sauce seemed really thin, so I dissolved 1 T flour in a little bit of water and whisked it in. Perfect! I am adding it to my recipe collection right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I did not have red peppers so I used banana peppers instead. I used 3/4 tsp of cajun seasoning in place of the cayenne pepper and used only a dash of cayenne pepper. I also only used 1 tsp of minced garlic to suit my personal preferenced, but boy was this delicious! I will be making it again and my picky boyfriend loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States