Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this - the only change I made was to reduce cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisheej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was lovely, mild and delicious as written. Admittedly, my cayenne was a little old so if yours is more fresh, it'll be spicy. To pep it up a bit I did add some additional italian herb mix and next time I'd throw in green onions at the end or saute a sliced onion with the peppers at the beginning. I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I thought this recipe was very good! It came out quite thick for me and i did add some chicken. Very good and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was good, but it can't compete against my favorite, white clam sauce. :) anyway, no real complaints, just a little plain. It thickened up nice with the parmesan and a little cream, and I love parmesan so I was a happy camper to pile it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I cant believe how delicious this turned out! Took advice of other reviewers and cut cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp, broth to 1/2 cup, and added sour cream and cheese after I took the peppers and broth off the heat. I used Penne pasta because thats what I had and used one red, one orange and one yellow pepper. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I thought this was a good dish. I will use it again and add other veggies to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Loved this. It is NOT too runny--it reminded of sauces I have eaten in Italy and in authentic Italian restaurants here. The starch in the pasta thickens and the pasta absorbs--maybe the thin sauce people rinsed their pasta? Just a thought. I sued whole wheat penne because that's what I had--perhaps the sauce sticks better to penne? Another thought! I used one jumbo bell pepper, fresh mushrooms sautéed in a little olive oil and wine and a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach. I did it this way because my store went from $1 each to $2 for a red bell pepper and thought, "no way, that's outrageous, I'll stretch it another way," and in fact, I am glad I did because there was plenty of bell pepper flavor in the dish with the added bonus of other textures/flavors and it took no more time really. Thanks for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Enjoyable. A few notes however. 1. I think onions were needed. I added a medium onion, cut in half and thin sliced (maybe just a bit less of medium); but, I think it needed the flavor. I sauteed that with the red pepper. 2. I did use olive oil vs a spray, it needed that little bit of fat. 3. Garlic, I did add more; the recipe WAS FINE as is; just a personal taste, I love garlic. NOT necessary to add more. 4. THE SAUCE IS NOT RUNNY, it is just fine 5. I do NOT add the sour cream with the broth to simmer. Sour Cream should NOT be cooked. Add the broth, reduce the heat to low, and simmer 5 minutes until it reduces slightly. Remove from the heat, then add in the sour cream and mix to combine. The heat will warm it right up. 6. Toss with the pasta, however; it does need something green. I added plenty of fresh parsley and fresh basil. 7. Tasty good as is. But, I added chicken to make it a complete meal. I had grilled some chicken before, and thin sliced. It was excellent tossed with the pasta. The second time I made it, I didn't add chicken, but added 1 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms which I sauteed with the peppers and onions. Both were very good. The recipe is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Churchill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I'm taking summer classes in my college and don't have a meal plan so I was interested in some quick easy foods I can make my self. I have literally made and eaten this dish happily for lunch EVERYDAY starting May 13th (it's June 10th) and don't plan on stopping. Very quick and I love spicy food so it's a perfect combo for me. I added a bit, at the beginning of the week I prepare some kitchen on a flat stove with sesame oil (any oil will work, sesame was all I had access to and it tastes great) and recently have been adding a bit of Tiger Sauce seasoning to the chicken. I store it in tupperware in the the fridge and pull it out every lunch and toss some already cooked sliced chicken breasts in the sauce at the very end, then add a bit more tiger sauce seasoning. Tastes great, gets you some meat in the dish if the peppers and pasta aren't filling you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I don't know how "healthy" this dish is, but it's very good, easy and quick. Although calories were reduced by using the low fat sour cream (I used fat free), I believe the parmesan cheese and sour cream still hold their fair share of calories! I ate a small helping, coupled with a large salad and staying within my eating plan for weight reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States