Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was a very good basic recipe. To bump it up a bit, I substituted some of the broth with a 1/4 cup white wine. After simmering with the sour cream, I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh basil and 1/2 pound of cooked shrimp and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. It turned out very well, but could be improved by perhaps adding a 1/2 cup of the pasta water to keep the pasta from sticking together. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Loved it! Only a couple changes: Only put in 1/4 t cayenne. I used an onion instead of the bell pepper because that's all I had. I can't wait to add bell pepper next time, but I'm keeping the onion! Also, the sauce seemed really thin, so I dissolved 1 T flour in a little bit of water and whisked it in. Perfect! I am adding it to my recipe collection right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I did not have red peppers so I used banana peppers instead. I used 3/4 tsp of cajun seasoning in place of the cayenne pepper and used only a dash of cayenne pepper. I also only used 1 tsp of minced garlic to suit my personal preferenced, but boy was this delicious! I will be making it again and my picky boyfriend loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Excellent! I did get a bit nervous that the sauce wasn't thickening up even after adding the parmesan cheese, so I made a roux (1 tblsp. butter and 1 tbls. flour mixed over heat to a paste) and added that to the sauce, which then thickened things up very nicely. I also added broccoli for some more nutrition cook. Over all excellent recipe and definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Definitely something I'll make again. And it took so little time, it might become a staple for nights I get home late. I didn't have any sour cream (because I dislike it), so I used cream cheese. I also used vegetable bouillon/stock instead of chicken broth and added spinach and ham to the pepper (which was green and diced, not red and julienned). I let it cook down a little longer than the five minutes, and then kept it on very low flame as I added the cheese, right up until I dished it out. It turned out absolutely delicious. A little zestier than I was expecting (the cayenne took me a bit by surprise). Very rich and muchmuchmuch better than something I'd get at a restaurant. The sauce itself was incredible. Next time, I might use butter instead of cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and I really enjoyed it! I did make adjustments based on what I had (and what needed to be used up in the fridge). A nice take on pasta & sauce that lends itself to endless variations--this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinaislynn
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Made this recipe last week and I followed it exactly. Definitely going to make again and tweak it just a little. Less cayenne (boyfriend thought it was too spicy) and either a little less parm or same amount but using parm that is fresh. I used linguine because that is what I had. Also plan on adding shrimp and a little onion next time :) overall it was a decent meal, and even better the day after!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinaislynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avalon, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Extremely spicy but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Easy enough for week night meals, but delicious enough for company. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States