Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this recipe with hot pepper rings, julienned, I must say although very spicy I can't wait to make this one again soon. Fantastic recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I would actually give this recipe five stars with the adjustments I've made over several times making it. I definitely don't use the full amount of cayenne, and I add 1/2 an onion. I like to add fresh parsley and don't always use the same amount of vegetable broth (I'm vegetarian). I've always used fat free sour cream, which I add at the end, after it's off the heat. I also tend to cut back the amount of parmesean. I will sometimes add some Field Roast vegetarian chicken apple sausage or vegetarian chicken strips. With these adjustments, it's a favorite, quick, relatively healthy recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Just came back from Italy and wanted to duplicate some of the food we had there. This came very close! I used less red pepper, added sausage and substituded greek yogurt for the sour cream. Big hit with the family and very easy to make!!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Subtle flavor with a great burst of heat. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was very good. I used linguine, and added shrimp to the pepper saute. Added the sour cream after removing the pan from heat, as others suggested. Tossed fresh basil and parsley with the pasta. A nice change from typical marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Changed quite a bit here. Used oil and butter to sauté the peppers and added onions which are just indispensible. You can't really sauté without oil of some kind and there's no reason to dispense with olive oil at the very least. I did find that the sour cream melted down to liquid that made the pasta too runny even though I turned off the induction burner before adding it -- which is as good as removing the pan from the heat. I remedied this by adding a lot more parmesan cheese -- which made the dish taste better anyway. I served this Sicilian sausage. I'll likely make this again but I might use other veggies and make it like a primavera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this - the only change I made was to reduce cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisheej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was lovely, mild and delicious as written. Admittedly, my cayenne was a little old so if yours is more fresh, it'll be spicy. To pep it up a bit I did add some additional italian herb mix and next time I'd throw in green onions at the end or saute a sliced onion with the peppers at the beginning. I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I thought this recipe was very good! It came out quite thick for me and i did add some chicken. Very good and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was good, but it can't compete against my favorite, white clam sauce. :) anyway, no real complaints, just a little plain. It thickened up nice with the parmesan and a little cream, and I love parmesan so I was a happy camper to pile it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States