Feta Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I gave this only 3 stars because I had to really kick it up several notches to make it something we would eat. First, I added a tablespoon of crushed garlic to the butter and diced onions. I then added a pint of thickend cream and 1/4 cup of dry sherry to the pan along with the feta cheese. I simmered that until it was reduced, then added a pound of shrimp and some minced chives. This made it substantially a different recipe, but one I could serve to company. The basic recipe was a good start, just needed some major tweaking. My changes, served over the pasta, made 4 very generous servings for my company. Thanks for the basics though....great springboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was a great recipe. I just put a little bit of personal touch to it. I doubled the amount of sauce beause when cooking the dish I decided that for me, I needed more sauce. Also I used light butter to cut the fat, add a touch of garlic, a bit of lemon juice, and some asparagus, it makes a yummy dish I can eat even on my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is exactly the kind of recipe I've been looking for, for years - simple flavors, and interesting at the same time. The flavors are subtle but compelling. I doubled the amount of shrimp and feta (since I like a significant amount of protein), and cut the pasta in half, to make 4 servings. Since I will be the only one eating it, I added about 2 tablespoons of butter to the pasta to keep it from becoming a nasty, congealed lump before my next meal. The ease of preparation is an added bonus. I am grateful for this recipe and will definitely be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Something is wrong, 2 tbl. butter and 4 oz. shrimp doesn't cover 16 oz pasta at my house. I doctored up the recipe in great detail. Search ingredients for shrimp and feta cheese for several recipes that warrant using expensive ingredients. This is not a do-again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Was a good base but added extra feta used oil & garlic instead of butter. added onions & zucchini while pasta boiled. then added shrimp to onions with extra feta & dab of butter to cream sauce. added chives before serving. Definitely needed extra sauce but good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Nice quick and easy recipe. I used wholemeal pasta(40g penne pasta instead), and 2 tsp low fat margarine instead of butter. I also used spring onions ( scallons in the US) in place of onions. I used precooked prawns from the freezer and just defrosted them in minutes. It is a very easy recipe to make when in a rush ( I used 42g of feta as well as 113g of prawns). The liquid from the prawns helps to make the sauce which is great as an alternative to red sauce. Even my 3 year old loved it. This was just enough for 1 person as I wasn't feeding many. Next time I will add from chopped garlic and maybe a bit of fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Excellent flavor. Quick and easy recipe. Will either double the amount of sauce I make or cut back on the amount of pasta next time, as there was too much pasta for the amount of sauce made by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was so simple, and amazing how the feta cheese blended immediately with the liquid from the shrimp, to make a tasty, creamy rich sauce. I plan to have this as a regular thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
As written this recipe was too dry. As other reviewer mentioned, there definitely wasn't enough sauce for the amount of pasta used. What I did to combat that problem was after I cooked the onion and shrimp, I transferred them to a bowl and added white wine to the skillet. I reduced the wine and used that for my sauce. I also added sun-dried tomatoes and fresh parsley for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Five stars with a lot of revisions. Added chopped zucchini to the shrimp saute. Used Italian dressing instead of butter for added flavor. Used green onion instead of white. Squeezed half a lemon into the mixture. Also added about 1/2 cup to 1 cup of milk for extra creaminess. also added old bay seasoning to the shrimp. OH - used bowtied pasta. I was told that I MUST make this meal tomorrow. WONDERFUL AND QUICK TO MAKE!!!!!! Added note: I have been making this for several months now. Have subbed chicken, added sauteed frozen veggies, and have yet to complain about the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States