Feta Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I've made this twice now. I think it's easier to place the chicken in a ziploc for pounding (keeps the counter cleaner and prevents splattering). The 1st time I used plain feta and added dried basil and finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes. I also rolled the chicken in the bread crumbs (didn't measure). To help crispify (yea, I made that word up ;-) ) the breading, I sprayed with olive oil before baking. The 2nd time I used the pre-seasoned feta, and added panko crumbs to the bread crumbs (and sprayed). I liked this method better. Less time prepping, crunchier crust. I've served over pasta, and Greek salad. Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly except for adding 2 T of melted butter over the top before I popped it into the oven and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Awesome recipe. I copied others advise and added fresh basil to the tomato basil feta as well as breaded both sides of the chicken before stuffing it. I think adding more basil and sundried tomatoes would make it even better but it was awesome just like it was. I also copied the side dish someone else posted: angel hair pasta with a sautee of chopped fresh plum tomatoes, onions, garlic, oregano and fresh chopped basil. She was right, it was the perfect side dish. Great dinner and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Extremely simple! I only had plain feta, so I improvised and made my own flavored feta by pulsing sundried tomato pesto, basil leaves, and feta together in the food processor until combined. I also breaded the chicken breasts on both sides by tossing the bread crumbs and chicken in a bag and coating it that way. Much simpler than sprinkling on bread crumbs, which I'm never good at anyway. Chicken needed 40 min, not 30 min, but maybe my chicken was thicker. Thanks for the recipe! So very easy, and I thought it reheated just fine in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
definitely a keeper! used plain feta, with chopped tomatoes and mushrooms...drizzled butter near the end and broiled it for the last 5 min. i ate it with brown rice and asparagus on the side. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good... I didn't have feta cheese so I substituted with a mixture of crumbled gorgonzola and kraft singles that I had on hand. Nice and easy way to jazz up chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I can't believe I didn't rate this before. I have made this numerous times and turns out perfectly and delicious each time. What a quick dinner to make with riasted potatoes and side salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yummy!!! Made this for dinner tonight (bf LOVED it!). I did modify this to suit our tastes though. Here's what I did: a) instead of spreading 2 T breadcrumbs in the bottom of my baking dish & then sprinkling the remainder over my chx., I comb. 1/4 c. crumbs w/ 1/4 c. grated Parm cheese & coated my 3 chx. breasts (made 1/2 recipe) liberally w/ the mix.; I then sprinkled what was left on the bottom of my greased baking dish & over my chicken, b) chopped a lg. tomato & comb. it w/ 1.5 T fresh basil, 2 minced garlic cloves, 1/2 T EVOO & 1 T balsamic vinegar; I then topped my chx. breasts w/ the mix. (and remaining feta) during the last 10 min. of baking & c) sprayed ea. chx. breast w/ Pam to ensure even browning (worked very well!). Oh, I had no toothpicks handy, so I took an uncooked spaghetti strand, broke it into 3 pcs. & used them to hold my chx. breasts closed. Oh, & I don't think marinating is necessary (or pan frying), but you can do this if you want to.... I also find that 30 min. isn't enough baking time (mine took 45-50 min.). Be creative. Use a combo of plain feta, fresh basil/tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes or chopped spinach in place of tomato basil feta - anything goes! This pairs nicely w/ sun-dried tomato basil orzo by kgwen (try it!). This will be a reg. w/ me. Thx. for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
YUMMMY! My whole family loved it!!! I made a slight change to the recipe because I did not have feta with basil. I mixed sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil, fresh basil, and garlic powder to regular feta cheese. Delicious! This will be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMoker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Quick, easy, and delicious! I don't even like feta and enjoyed this dish. Chicken came out super moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States