Feta Cheese with Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Don't leave anything out of this salad. I thought the walnuts and avocado would make it weird, but they are perfect in the salad. The only thing I changed was using green olives because I ran out of kalamanta. Let it sit for at least an hour before serving for better flavors. It was perfect eaten with some homemade foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I had this salad at my sister's last night. I made her put it back in the fridge so I didn't eat the entire salad, it was so good! The avocado adds a rich taste and texture that is normally missing in a salad with an oil and vinegar dressing. I think it would also be great with chopped, cooked chicken breast for a light supper salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was a delicious recipe! I have made it several times so far since salads are great summer food. Once or twice I used dried basil instead of fresh because my plant was not big enough and it was still delicious. I have also added some roasted red peppers in there and that was a great addition as well. We will continue to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
My husband didn't prefer these flavors blended together, but I thought it made for a unique salad. I might throw a few of the ingredients together again when dining alone, but will eliminate, or decrease, the green onions next time, simply due to those having somewhat of an overpowering flavor compared to such delicious other ingredients. Made for a quick side item, and meal, when paired with baked chicken breast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was delicious but very rich. I omitted the walnuts because of personal preference (I did taste the salad with a few, but I didn't think they added much flavor--just a nice crunch), and I used black olives because I didn't have kalamata. I used 4 oz of feta instead of 6 oz, because that's the size of the container I had, but I think next time I'll use about half that amount. The basil added such a wonderful flavor, and the creamy avocado gave the dish a great texture. It didn't make the greatest leftovers, though--best eaten on the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was trying to decide between two kinds of Greek-sounding salads and ended up combining them. Used this recipe and just added about 2 1/2 cups cooked orzo. Gave the salad more volume and blended nicely with other salad ingredients. Think I would do it this way again. The fresh basil tasted wonderful with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I've made it twice now and it's turned out perfectly both times! The only changes that I have made is that I used an oil and vinegar dressing just because I was trying to use it up and have one less bottle of dressing in the fridge. This salad is really good, especially if you let it sit a bit before you eat it. The dinner party I took it to devoured it, and there was 4 of us though the recipe is for 6! Compliments all around! Tastes great and easy to transport and take to parties and potlucks and things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
just a matter of personal taste, i thought the green onions in the recipe overpowered all of the other ingredients. next time i will make it and omit the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
We really enjoyed this as a refreshing side dish. I used just plain feta instead of the basil/sundried tomato feta, and skipped the walnuts because my husband doesn't like nuts in food. It was really good, and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I took this to a 4th of July party and it was a huge hit! People were eating it as a salad and (since I cut up all the stuff fairly small) dipping tortilla chips in it. I didn't use the red pepper and only used 4 oz of feta (that was the only size package I found). It didn't make up a ton the way I made it. I could have EASILY made a double batch and it would have all disappeared. I really feel the fresh basil is a must, dried really wouldn't give it the same vibrant flavor. I was sort of skeptical when I first read the recipe because it seems like a strange combination of ingredients but it is really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States