Feta Cheese Foldovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
My family makes a Maltese appetizer that takes forever to make. The crust on these can't compare, but they continue to get rave reviews when I make them. I can't stay away from making them every chance I get. I did use egg white instead of yolk to brush, seems to make it flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were pretty good, but I'm only giving it three stars because I made quite a few changes. I added oregano and garlic powder to the feta mixture. I used phyllo pastry and I had to cut the cooking time to twelve minutes. This recipe has potential, but only if you add to it, and I'm glad I read other reviews before I made these foldovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I used regular phyhllo shells and flavored phyllo shells along with flavored feta with mozzarella cheese and spinach. These were a huge hit!!! I have been requested to make them for all of our get togethers. These were super easy to make and by using the shells you can make more than enough for everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Barker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
These get demanded when ever I ask someone "What can i bring?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
My family loves these! We are Maltese and have a similar snack called a Pestutsi (SP?) that take days to make. These are just as good! I brush with egg white instead of yolk, it seems to come out flakier that way. I have also varied the size - one puff pastry makes either 9 larger ones (family prefers this), but after a special request from a friend I made them smaller, each puff pastry sheet making 16. Either way is good, I prefer large. You won't be sorry you made these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were not bad. But I couldn't give them higher than a three. The taste was okay but didn't wow anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. I used the flavored feta cheese. I froze them unbaked and then baked them frozen about an hour before serving - baking time approximately 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this for a baby shower and it was a big hit! But I made several changes to give it more color and flavor, per other people's suggestions. I used garlic/herb feta cheese and added 2 T. chopped black olives, 1/2 c. toasted almond slices, 1/4 c. roasted red peppers, chopped and one more egg. Also, I used phyllo shells instead of the pastry dough. This was MUCH EASIER! I scooped 1 t. into each shell and baked at 350 for 5-8 min. The colorful ingredients made for a great presentation in the shells. I recommend buying 60 shells (4 boxes) for this recipe. Also, I made the feta mixture ahead of time and froze it. Then thawed overnight before baking and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I brought these to a family holiday and they didn't go over as well as I'd hoped... I didn't do a great job with the puff pastry, so I take partial credit for that. I used tomato basil feta, which made for very good flavor, but the finished texture wasn't great. They didn't get melty and gooey like I think people - and I - expected when they heard "cheese" foldovers. I want to give this another shot, and maybe mix the feta with another cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMMYSAUCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Big hit at a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Brooklyn Mac & Cheese

This "ooey, gooey" super comforting Mac and Cheese recipe is so easy to make!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States