Feta Cheese and Roasted Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I stayed true to the recipe and I didn't enjoy this soup at all. All I could smell and taste was the soy sauce. I would recommend following the suggestions posted previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My wife & I are agreed, the soup is very good. Omitted salt and retained the 1/4 c. of soy sauce, the low sodium one. That seemed to put saltiness at a suitable level.We're looking forward to sharing this tasty creation with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John3:16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
With a few modifications this can be a great recipe. Based on other reviews that this was too salty, I used half the amount of salt and half the amount of soy sauce. This was the right amount of saltiness for us. However, we found this to be a bit too hot for our tastes. The flavor was good, but the heat was too much. Next time I would reduce the cayenne by at least half. I served this with grilled cheese as a "fancy" replacement for tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love the idea of this soup and think it would work with modifications, but as written it is not good. We cut the salt and soy sauce in half and it is still too salty. It tastes more like feta soup than red pepper soup. I would reduce the feta by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Fantastic! Restaurant quality soup. Cut the soy sauce down to 1/2 tsp, reduce the feta, eliminate the salt and cut the cayenne in half and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
A really wonderful dish. I substituted jarred red peppers which saved a lot of time. I also reduced the cayenne pepper by half because of my kids' sensitive palates, and omitted the salt--folks can always add salt to taste. It still had a nice kick to it. My nine year old son who's a picky eater, LOVED it. I served it as an appetizer to another great recipie on this site, Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese-Chive Butter. It was a great meal all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
It is a very good soup. Based on previous reviews, I didn't use any salt and only half of soy sauce, no wine. I get feta cheese from Costco and often it goes bad as we don't eat that much feta that fast. This is a great recipe to use it up. It is fairly time and labor consuming so I wouldn't use it as a quick meal idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I thought this was a very good soup, although I too found it a little on the salty side and also thought the feta overpowered the other ingredients. Next time I'll try less salt and less feta. Overall though, we really liked this recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This recipe was unique and although at first taste neither my husband or I really cared for it, it did grow on us. It is strong and as was noted in another recipe, salty. I deleted the salt because the soy sauce adds plenty on its own. I served it garnished with sour cream and chopped pickled peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States