Feta Cheese and Bacon Stuffed Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
AMAZING!!! I cooked this dish tonight to try it out first before serving it at my New Year's Eve dinner party for 8. My fiancee and I both INHALED it. He gave it a 9 out of 10. :-) The only slight changes I made to the recipe was to use crumbled goat cheese instead of feta. I just prefer goat cheese; it's smoother and less salty. It worked very well with the bacon, which was already very salty (I didn't use the additional salt & pepper in the recipe either.) I also used 2 strips of bacon per chicken breast - one inside the breast and one to wrap around it for a nice extra flavor and pretty presentation. I marinated the flattened chicken in the sauce first for about an hour and then assembled each breast in the pan, using a toothpick to hold it all together. 25 minutes was perfect. After plating the breasts, I sprinkled some more of the goat cheese crumbles for presentation. The chicken came out sooo juicy and tender. I give it a 10 out of 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Lovely flavor. Like others I halved the oil and the oregano and used goat cheese. The chicken does not need to be pounded to stuff it-- use a very sharp knife to cut a pocket into the breast, making the entrance hole at the thickest, short side of the breast. Swing the knife inside the breast to enlarge the pocket without making the entrance hole larger. Use one toothpick to close the pocket once you have stuffed it. Also like others, I crumbled the bacon and mashed it with the goat cheese before stuffing, and I wrapped the breast in a par-cooked (microwave) slice of bacon before cooking the breast. Pan juices were heavenly over some orzo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This always gets nothing but rave reviews at my house. The first time I made it, I accidentally used 2 tbsp of lemon juice, instead of 2 tsp. Good thing. It turned out delicious. The only suggestion I have is beating the chicken extra flat before rolling them. Makes the whole thing alot easier and less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I've made this twice now. It has a nice flavor, although I think it needs a bit more of something - haven't figured it out yet. The feta and bacon go great together. Just make sure not to overcook it, because it can get realllly dry, even though there's bacon in it. The second time I made it, I wrapped the bacon around the chicken breast and it turned out great! I actually prefer it this way now. The bacon was nicely cooked with a slight crisp, not soggy like when you cook in inside the breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Great idea! I however, was extremely lazy & in a hurry: just put individually frozen chicken breasts in a baking dish(still frozen), threw all the ingredients on top without measuring(used hormel's bacon bits), and baked at 375 degrees. It was delicious served atop a bed of fresh spinach. The kids gobbled it up. Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
A Definite Family Favorite. I come from a very large and very greek family so the staple greek flavors of feta and oregano were a natural hit. Chickem is never dry. Marinating for several hours if possible really helps to bring out the flavors. I also added a little bit of dried basil and/or thyme to the mix just to really bring out the herbaceous nature of this dish. Excellent and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was VERY good! I marinated chicken for about an hour, used (moist) bacon bits & mixed with crumbled feta before stuffing chicken. Followed recipe EXACTLY and it worked beautifully. When using smaller chicken breasts definately only 25 minutes @ 350. I cooked covered for 20 minutes, then put broiler on for last 5 for some color on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This turned out wonderful! I did make some changes...I used boneless skinless thighs instead of breasts. I marinated them for about 4 hours because I had to run errands. I used chevre instead of feta because it's what I had on hand, and I wrapped raw bacon around the outside of the chicken instead of cooked inside. It was rich and flavorful! The flavor was so intense we were satisfied with only one serving...built in portion control! I will definitely be putting this recipe in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This didn't have much taste to it. Probablly won't make it again. Feta cheese was way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was so tasty. My Greek friend gave it highest honors. I used some of the pan juices to dress up the steamed cauliflower and broccoli I served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States