Feta and Turkey Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I couldn't bring myself to add BBQ sauce because the thought of BBQ sauce and feta was just too weird for me me so I made them more Italian flavored by leaving out the BBQ sauce and corn. I used fresh tomatoes so the liquid from cooking the tomatoes down was plenty to keep the turkey from drying it. I also added chopped brown mushrooms, fennel, fresh Italian parsley, thyme, and red pepper flakes. Just prior to baking I pressed a ball of mozzarella into the middle for a little cheesy surprise. I would definitely make them the same way because they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Very good! The ingredients all came together nicely. I did make a handful of changes. I left out the corn and replaced it with chopped fresh mushrooms. Added garlic salt and a couple tablespoons of worcestershire to season the ground turkey. I also went with a half cup of rice and probably could have gone to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Thought this was delicious! Made it more healthy & tastier by: Reducing olive oil to 1 tbsp. Adding 2 cloves garlic (minced) with onion Replacing water with low sodium chicken broth Removing corn Replacing diced tomatoes with fresh sliced grape tomatoes (about 20) Removing fennel/ replaced with 1/2 tsp. of cumin Added large bunch of fresh chopped basil Replaced white rice with brown rice (meant adding at that point 2 cups of chicken broth & simmering 45 min in total vs. 15) Removing bbq sauce. To speed up time that I lost from changing rice, I cooked at 350 convection roast for 30 min. Turned out perfect & I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Excellent, and contrary to what others may say, pretty easy to throw together. I left out the fennel seeds and replaced the feta with a smaller amount of shredded sharp cheese because that is what I had. Already planned to make this again. It will make more filling than 6 peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was EXCellant! We LOVED it and I did not change a thing!! YUMMY I will definately make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I tried this last night for the first time. the feta smelled amazing when it was cooking. I think next time I would add a little garlic (just because I am a garlic fan and I think it would add a good taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was a great mid week dinner! Not the fastest meal to put together but it was worth it. I added fresh garlic, chili paste, fresh spinach and fresh diced tomatoes as I didn't have canned diced tomatoes. As a side dish, I added Honey Corn bread and had many compliments! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was a delicious low carb recipe, my husband and his dad loved it. The Feta really adds flavor and I used ground turkey which kept it at a healthy fat content. will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We really liked this! I used chicken broth and brown rice. And I always drop the cleaned green peppers in boiling salted water for a minute and drain them before stuffing. The sweet and smokey BBQ sauce really made the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe states and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States