Feta and Olive Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I wanted a unique and different meatball recipe and this one really stood out. I was so excited and got to cooking only to be floored to see that I had two containers of blue cheese and no feta. I used the blue cheese and they were still very good. Since I live 20 miles from a real grocery store it was out of the question to make the trip...but next time I'm in town, you can bet I'll buy feta and try again. Thanks for the originality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These are some of the best meatballs I've ever had in my life, I'm not even really much of a fan of a hunk of beef(never been a heavy beef person though), but wow. I used Tomato & Basil Feta, a small can of chopped black olives, the onions of course, I used some fresh parsely and basil from my "garden"(4 flower pots on the front porch of my apartment). I also used a premade; McCormick I think, Italian Meatball seasoning envelope, some extra dried oregano and basil, and then I tossed in some bread crumbs, I did use 2 eggs. I don't have a broiler on my oven so I set my oven to 300 and baked the meatballs for 10 minutes, took them out, flipped them, baked them 15 minutes, took them out, checked them, then baked them another 10 minutes, so 35 minutes total, and they came out great. I put them over some wheat shells and covered it all w/ alfredo sauce, AMAZING. One of the best dinners I've had in a long time. I'd HIGHLY recommend these, I think I may even make them for Thanksgiving as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
These were super yummy...added a few more ingredients to suit my our personal pallet, but great base for yummy meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I made these using ground turkey, didnt have fresh parsley or onion so I used dried minced onion and dried parsely and added some dried breadcrumbs. The flavor was wonderful using the broiler instead of baking! I had them like regular meatballs with spaghetti and red sauce and they were delicious and filling, will definately make again next time I have feta to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These were great! We also used Kalamata olives instead, and subbed a variety of dried herbs in place of the fresh parsley. We served these with Molly's Mouthwatering Tzatziki--a perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I like this recipe - I did make three major alterations: lean ground turkey meat, black olives, and sheep's milk feta. (It's what I had on hand.) They still turned out great - a little dry, but not too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made these for an office potluck. They were amazing. I really dislike meatballs but I had to have one as I LOVE feta & olives! I did kalamata olives instead of green olives. I did ground chuck instead of ground lamb (I'm sure most co-workers wouldn't eat lamb), and added oregano & garlic salt. They were so juicy & full of flavor!! This is such a great idea for meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Despina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I especially like this recipe. It works so, so well with ground lamb! I tried the original version and found that my alterations did the trick for me: used blue cheese crumbs instead...green olives...added 3/4 cup-1 cup bread crumbs that have italian seasoning already...added basil (fresh)...added a few garlic cloves. The mixture seems meticulous but worked out well for me. I liked both versions, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were great as is. Going to try putting them are skewers next time, just to see if it works. I made them with a Greek salad and got good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were way too dry and tough. Good flavor but next time I will add a lot of breadcrumbs to make them soft. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Meatballs

Find out how to make meatballs for appetizers, sandwiches, soups, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States