Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken with Onion Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Having just read multiple reviews of this dish I will start by saying that yes, there are a number of ways the fat content can be reduced. However, I will review the dish based on the provided recipe. First of all, the top three things about this dish: the taste is quite flavorful, the presentation can be quite elegant, and there are several steps that can be done ahead. Those three things mean this dish lends itself very well to dinner party fare. On preparation: With respect to the chicken, you can do everything up to placing it in the oven in advance. I used quite a bit more oregano (probably 1 tbsp.) as I just wasn't getting enough flavor from the 1/8 tbsp. prescribed in the recipe. I also upped the pepper quite a bit. (Probably 1/2 - 3/4 tbsp.) I used panko instead of traditional bread crumbs and it browned BEAUTIFULLY! When purchasing your chicken, look for larger breasts as they are easier to stuff and you can get a lot more of the yummy filling in them. And trust me, the filling is VERY yummy. Because the breasts I purchased were smaller, I had leftover filling. I decided to add it to the mashed potatoes and it was delightful. I sauteed the onion and added three cloves of minced garlic. I mixed that with the leftover filling I had, the butter and sour cream and let it all sit until the potatoes were done, then mashed it into the onion/feta mixture. I served the chicken/mashed potatoes with fresh spinach and my whole family raved about the meal. (Kids included!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This recipe was absolutely delicious!!!! Our friends that were up from Connecticut kept raving about it. We added garlic to the potatoes, and basil with the feta, oregano, sour cream & pepper mixture. Your taste buds will thank you for the time & effort put in to making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe and surprisingly my 3 kids loved it as well. I had to change a few things though. I only had 6oz (3/4 cup) of Fetta so I added some Mozerella (3-4 oz). I also added an extra heaping teaspoon of sour cream. For the bread crumbs I used chopped up Italian Seasoned Stuffing. I also used a whole pound of bacon and cooked it crisp enough to crumble into 1/2 in pieces or less. I didn't worry about cooking it soft because bacon always softens when I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjduncan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I had thick bacon so it never got crispy. If the bacon had been crispier it would be 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My husband and I both agree that this was not very good. The chicken itself came out great but the stuffing was gross. It tasted great before I baked it. I had made extra bacon for my son to munch on while he waited for dinner, and we all ended up dipping it (the extra bacon in the stuffing). That was good. But after we baked it, something about the sour cream and the feta cheese just did not blend. My kids (6 and 4)enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgirlo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
bloody amazing, my mother calls this dish restaurant quaility food. I used 4 chicken breast but did not change the amount of the filling. The potatoes by them selves needed salt but when paired with the chichen they were devine. Next time I want to add the left over feta filling into the potatoes and this will eliminate the need for salt as well as tie it into the dish better. I thought that the bacon was going to over power the chicken but gave a really nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This dish was amazing! It was well worth the mess it left me with in the kitchen lol! I have never tried feta as I cannot get past the smell, so I used shredded cheddar instead. A major hit at my house! It made me think of Sunday dinners at my Grammas house when I was a kid! Thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
WOW!!! I'd never had feta cheese before and... WOW! This was so good! I had to triple the recipe to feed 9 people, next time I will triple the number of chicken breasts, and quadruple the amout of filling so that I can stuff them more full. But really just with a modist amount of filling this was really reallly good! Oh... and due to being short on time I couldn't make the taters :( but I really wanted to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This Chicken is fantastic. I'm sure you could drizzle olive oil on it to save on some of the fat, but what fun would that be? Also I used bone in breasts, we slit them in almost in half along the bone, fried them, and then stuffed them to bake. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this made some with feta and some with pepperjack both were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringgold, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States