Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken with Onion Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Good grief people! You are supposed to rate the recipe on HOW IT TASTES not on how the picture looks or how many calories are in it or the ingredients you THINK should have been included. If you haven't eaten it please don't make the rest of scroll through useless reviews to find helpful ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
906 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Having just read multiple reviews of this dish I will start by saying that yes, there are a number of ways the fat content can be reduced. However, I will review the dish based on the provided recipe. First of all, the top three things about this dish: the taste is quite flavorful, the presentation can be quite elegant, and there are several steps that can be done ahead. Those three things mean this dish lends itself very well to dinner party fare. On preparation: With respect to the chicken, you can do everything up to placing it in the oven in advance. I used quite a bit more oregano (probably 1 tbsp.) as I just wasn't getting enough flavor from the 1/8 tbsp. prescribed in the recipe. I also upped the pepper quite a bit. (Probably 1/2 - 3/4 tbsp.) I used panko instead of traditional bread crumbs and it browned BEAUTIFULLY! When purchasing your chicken, look for larger breasts as they are easier to stuff and you can get a lot more of the yummy filling in them. And trust me, the filling is VERY yummy. Because the breasts I purchased were smaller, I had leftover filling. I decided to add it to the mashed potatoes and it was delightful. I sauteed the onion and added three cloves of minced garlic. I mixed that with the leftover filling I had, the butter and sour cream and let it all sit until the potatoes were done, then mashed it into the onion/feta mixture. I served the chicken/mashed potatoes with fresh spinach and my whole family raved about the meal. (Kids included!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
How bout cutting out 2/3 of the calories and getting great flavor out of this great recipe. I used low fat sour cream, low salt bacon. Instead of breading the chicken and cooking in bacon fat, I pan seared in olive oil and baked until done...it was excellent and not heavy at all..nice and brown on all sides yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my family, I had a little trouble with the cheese melting out of the pocket but I believe that was my error.. Thanks for this great recipe I wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diehardcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was super yummy. I only made the chicken part, because it felt like to heavy of a meal with the potatoes too. I made a couple of small changes...I added parmeson cheese to the bread crumbs as well for the coating. I also added minced garlic and shallots to the stuffing. Rather then frying the chicken, I put 1/2 pat of butter on each breast and baked the chicken in the oven. It took about 45 minutes to cook complete. Make sure to spray the baking pan with non-stick spray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinagail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
It's always tempting to cook chicken longer, and I'm glad I didn't in this instance. Using 3, thick, bonelss, skinkless breasts, the cook time was perfect. (Nothing worse than overdone, dry chicken.) Cooked the bacon to a crisp and crumbled them in with the feta mixture. I recommend a little more sour cream in the stuffing. Well worth the prep - both were delicious. Thank you for the recipe, the next day at work every passerby saw my leftovers and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Amazing! Did have to cook for nearly an hour. Added about 1/4 cup of white wine while baking. The best thing I've had in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyanna Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have feta, so I used what I had; parm, swiss, and cheddar. I also added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts and a little garlic. Instead of breading the chicken, I just dipped it in milk and flour and browned the breasts in the bacon grease BEFORE I stuffed them. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow! This was absolutely scrumptious! This was my first time stuffing chicken so I was a little worried about how it would turn out. Well...as it turns out, I'm a pretty good chicken stuffer! :) Made exactly as recipe calls except I used real bacon bits instead of frying some fresh. Because of this I had to brown the chicken in vegetable oil, so I didn't have the bacon taste throughout. Next time I'm using real bacon. The stuffing was delicious and not nearly as hard to stuff in the chicken as I would have thought. I did not make the potatoes only because my husband hates onions. Very pleased with the look and taste of the end result...definitely making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
As I often do, I offered this to my Level 2 Culinary Arts Class whose iterpretation of Feta was correct and used Cow's Milk Feta, however since most of the emphasis was on bacon and bacon fat (I loath the word grease) the subtle flavours of the chicken were masked. We also followed the rule and completed the accompanying onion mashed potatoes and fouind that here the bacon was also detected. I am always reluctant to have too many animals vying for attention so the combination of pig, poultry and dairy required some unorthodox handling and to those who may have added goat feta, the complexity of the compound is even more so. However, others who made it enjoyed it and the bottom line in cooking art is to enjoy the process and the result to be aimed for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States