Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken with Onion Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I used much less bacon and feta and low fat sour cream to try and lighten this up a bit. I also used only one egg for the breading and about half a cup of seasoned bread crumbs. I made the accompanying onion mashed potatoes and thought they were a nice compliment to the chicken. I could also only eat half my chicken so I saved the other half for lunch the next day. As someone who is watching my weight, I still think that this is a good recipe and will definately make it again, like all good and rich food, it will just be in moderation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! Picky kids and picky hubby even loved it. I used cheddar instead of feta.I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Not a fan. I guess feta cheese is not for me. A little salty and bland, I have made a lot better chicken dishes. It's something i would never make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Salty and Yummy! I loved all the flavors and the potatoes were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
So fantastic! I absolutely loved it and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My family doesn't like feta cheese. So i substituded feta for cream cheese with chives and onion. It was awesome. It even works for pork steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was really good. I used panko instead of regular bread crumbs and I had to use a red onion up, so I used that in the potatoes. I loved the potatoes the best. The chicken was good, I flattened it and then rolled it up w/ the cheese stuff in the middle. Thanks for a great and very rich meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
mmmm added garlic & some onion to the stuffing mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Having just read multiple reviews of this dish I will start by saying that yes, there are a number of ways the fat content can be reduced. However, I will review the dish based on the provided recipe. First of all, the top three things about this dish: the taste is quite flavorful, the presentation can be quite elegant, and there are several steps that can be done ahead. Those three things mean this dish lends itself very well to dinner party fare. On preparation: With respect to the chicken, you can do everything up to placing it in the oven in advance. I used quite a bit more oregano (probably 1 tbsp.) as I just wasn't getting enough flavor from the 1/8 tbsp. prescribed in the recipe. I also upped the pepper quite a bit. (Probably 1/2 - 3/4 tbsp.) I used panko instead of traditional bread crumbs and it browned BEAUTIFULLY! When purchasing your chicken, look for larger breasts as they are easier to stuff and you can get a lot more of the yummy filling in them. And trust me, the filling is VERY yummy. Because the breasts I purchased were smaller, I had leftover filling. I decided to add it to the mashed potatoes and it was delightful. I sauteed the onion and added three cloves of minced garlic. I mixed that with the leftover filling I had, the butter and sour cream and let it all sit until the potatoes were done, then mashed it into the onion/feta mixture. I served the chicken/mashed potatoes with fresh spinach and my whole family raved about the meal. (Kids included!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States