Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken with Onion Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
So fantastic! I absolutely loved it and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My family doesn't like feta cheese. So i substituded feta for cream cheese with chives and onion. It was awesome. It even works for pork steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was really good. I used panko instead of regular bread crumbs and I had to use a red onion up, so I used that in the potatoes. I loved the potatoes the best. The chicken was good, I flattened it and then rolled it up w/ the cheese stuff in the middle. Thanks for a great and very rich meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
mmmm added garlic & some onion to the stuffing mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Having just read multiple reviews of this dish I will start by saying that yes, there are a number of ways the fat content can be reduced. However, I will review the dish based on the provided recipe. First of all, the top three things about this dish: the taste is quite flavorful, the presentation can be quite elegant, and there are several steps that can be done ahead. Those three things mean this dish lends itself very well to dinner party fare. On preparation: With respect to the chicken, you can do everything up to placing it in the oven in advance. I used quite a bit more oregano (probably 1 tbsp.) as I just wasn't getting enough flavor from the 1/8 tbsp. prescribed in the recipe. I also upped the pepper quite a bit. (Probably 1/2 - 3/4 tbsp.) I used panko instead of traditional bread crumbs and it browned BEAUTIFULLY! When purchasing your chicken, look for larger breasts as they are easier to stuff and you can get a lot more of the yummy filling in them. And trust me, the filling is VERY yummy. Because the breasts I purchased were smaller, I had leftover filling. I decided to add it to the mashed potatoes and it was delightful. I sauteed the onion and added three cloves of minced garlic. I mixed that with the leftover filling I had, the butter and sour cream and let it all sit until the potatoes were done, then mashed it into the onion/feta mixture. I served the chicken/mashed potatoes with fresh spinach and my whole family raved about the meal. (Kids included!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This recipe was absolutely delicious!!!! Our friends that were up from Connecticut kept raving about it. We added garlic to the potatoes, and basil with the feta, oregano, sour cream & pepper mixture. Your taste buds will thank you for the time & effort put in to making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was a wonderful recipe and surprisingly my 3 kids loved it as well. I had to change a few things though. I only had 6oz (3/4 cup) of Fetta so I added some Mozerella (3-4 oz). I also added an extra heaping teaspoon of sour cream. For the bread crumbs I used chopped up Italian Seasoned Stuffing. I also used a whole pound of bacon and cooked it crisp enough to crumble into 1/2 in pieces or less. I didn't worry about cooking it soft because bacon always softens when I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wjduncan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I had thick bacon so it never got crispy. If the bacon had been crispier it would be 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My husband and I both agree that this was not very good. The chicken itself came out great but the stuffing was gross. It tasted great before I baked it. I had made extra bacon for my son to munch on while he waited for dinner, and we all ended up dipping it (the extra bacon in the stuffing). That was good. But after we baked it, something about the sour cream and the feta cheese just did not blend. My kids (6 and 4)enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgirlo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
bloody amazing, my mother calls this dish restaurant quaility food. I used 4 chicken breast but did not change the amount of the filling. The potatoes by them selves needed salt but when paired with the chichen they were devine. Next time I want to add the left over feta filling into the potatoes and this will eliminate the need for salt as well as tie it into the dish better. I thought that the bacon was going to over power the chicken but gave a really nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States