Feta and Bacon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
The basic idea here is a fantastic twist on your ordinary bechamel. The feta is a unique touch. I didn't have leeks, so I used a red onion. Next time I'll probably head out to the store and find some leeks or green onions, or half the onion. It wasn't clear in the instructions, but with the amount of flour, I used the bacon fat with a reduced amount of butter for my roux. It lent a nice, smokey flavor throughout the sauce. I also used an extra cup of milk based on the reviews saying it was such a thick sauce. It was still very thick. I also didn't have quite enough feta, so I added a handful of freshly grated parmesan cheese to compensate. Instead of adding the onion and bacon back to the sauce, I reserved it as a garnish. I served the sauce over pasta with blanched green beans and a grape tomato dice. It was a very tasty and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Lovely recipe - I'm enjoying it as I type - I added some fresh thyme to break up the rich flavours - this will be a often repeated recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was really really good, although I used cheddar cheese and onions instead of feta and leeks. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
We really liked this. I added a generous splash of dry white wine and used ground white pepper instead of black. Makes an easy, elegant pasta sauce that's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
*Wonderful* flavor and easy to make. I did use green onions instead of leeks ('cause that's what I had). It's a thick sauce, so I would serve over penne pasta ... got reviews of "It's a keeper" from my partner and my sales manager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Needs work. Sauce is very pasty & thick as is and the flavor is just bland. Tastes "canned". Not sure I would make this again, too many additions/changes needed. Hubby disliked it & my kids wouldn't touch it though they like both feta & Bacon normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought this was great! I paired it with oven breaded chicken breasts and for the sauce I substituted the leeks for mushrooms. I also added the spicing (pepper and vegeta) while the mushrooms and onions were on the pan (with a little butter!) Turned out great with the regular recipe and considering I read some reviews that said it was too bland, I found that it tasted great! Totally one for my recipe book! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I didn't like the idea of making this with leeks, so I used green onions instead. I had it over angel hair pasta, and, with a thick slice of cheesy garlic bread, this made a great lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
my hubby loved this sauce. I followed the recipe except made the roux sauce with the bacon and leeks, once thickened I added the feta and simmered ten minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States