Feta and Bacon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was ok - I tasted the flour and I always seem to taste it when I mix the flour and milk together and just add it to the butter - I prefer making a roux and then add the cheese, etc. The combination of the feta and bacon we nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
The basic idea here is a fantastic twist on your ordinary bechamel. The feta is a unique touch. I didn't have leeks, so I used a red onion. Next time I'll probably head out to the store and find some leeks or green onions, or half the onion. It wasn't clear in the instructions, but with the amount of flour, I used the bacon fat with a reduced amount of butter for my roux. It lent a nice, smokey flavor throughout the sauce. I also used an extra cup of milk based on the reviews saying it was such a thick sauce. It was still very thick. I also didn't have quite enough feta, so I added a handful of freshly grated parmesan cheese to compensate. Instead of adding the onion and bacon back to the sauce, I reserved it as a garnish. I served the sauce over pasta with blanched green beans and a grape tomato dice. It was a very tasty and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
We really liked this. I added a generous splash of dry white wine and used ground white pepper instead of black. Makes an easy, elegant pasta sauce that's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Needs work. Sauce is very pasty & thick as is and the flavor is just bland. Tastes "canned". Not sure I would make this again, too many additions/changes needed. Hubby disliked it & my kids wouldn't touch it though they like both feta & Bacon normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This dish is fantastic! im a uni student who works and studies a lot, and dont have time to cook. i whip this up in minutes (doubling it) and i have heaps left to freeze for a quick meal. Absolutly delicious! made it many times now! thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I didn't like the idea of making this with leeks, so I used green onions instead. I had it over angel hair pasta, and, with a thick slice of cheesy garlic bread, this made a great lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This recipe was good, but super-salty. We used green onions instead of leeks, and they worked fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Very simple and creamy. Very salty, but complemented Aussie chicken well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Tasty! I didn't have and Leeks, so I just left that part out. I really didn't measure anything, just added what I thought would tast good. For the milk, I used half 1%, and half heavy cream to make a nice rich suace. I also added a few glugs of white wine to jazz it up a little. I served it over Garlic Chicken and fettucini. Very rich and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Easy, rich, and sooooo yummy. Fattening, so serve it on a night when you feel like indulging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States