Festive Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I like this dish. Wild rice needs some help and this does it. I didn't have peas so I sautéed a stalk of celery and three cloves of garlic instead as one reviewer suggested and put a beef bullion cube in with the rice. The cranberries really give this dimension. I'll try it with peas next time but keep the celery and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I took the suggestion of other reviewers and used half white rice and half wild rice. I cooked in chicken broth for extra flavor and added about 4 chopped green onions at the end. Very flavorful and nice texture between the chewy dried cranberries and fresh crunch of the green onions I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
blah and boring. I first tried and tasted nothing so then I added onions, garlic, some herbs, nuts, etc.... then it was finally okay. But by then it was my own new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
After reading all the rave reviews I can't believe how blah this dish is. I think my mistake was using a suggested 1/3 white rice and 3/4 wild rice. The white rice turned to mush. I cooked the rice in beef broth. When done, I added onion, garlic, and celery cooked tender in a little olive oil along with the peas, cranberries, and toasted walnuts. Nothing saved it. It's still mush. I think with fluffy wild rice it would have been very good, just don't use white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I took Josie's advice and added a bit of white rice (1/4 white to 3/4 wild). Also added the carrots, etc. she suggested. We loved the recipe and it was actually better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This one's very good, gives a unique flavoring to an otherwise boring side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This had good flavor....I think the cranberries should be in smaller pieces. They were a turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
FANTASTIC! THIS GETS RAVE REVIEWS WITH MY FAMILY AS WELL AS ME. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is a very good start for a delicious side dish. I cooked rice mixture in chicken broth, added toasted slivered almonds, minced green onion and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Was good...a little different, but after everyone tried it, they really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States