Festive Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I like this dish. Wild rice needs some help and this does it. I didn't have peas so I sautéed a stalk of celery and three cloves of garlic instead as one reviewer suggested and put a beef bullion cube in with the rice. The cranberries really give this dimension. I'll try it with peas next time but keep the celery and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
FANTASTIC! THIS GETS RAVE REVIEWS WITH MY FAMILY AS WELL AS ME. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I cooked rice in chicken broth and added walnuts... great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I took the suggestion of other reviewers and used half white rice and half wild rice. I cooked in chicken broth for extra flavor and added about 4 chopped green onions at the end. Very flavorful and nice texture between the chewy dried cranberries and fresh crunch of the green onions I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
In my opinion this was kind of bland as is but after some doctoring up, this turned out to be a delicious side dish. I used half wild rice and half white and added some sauteed carrots, onions and celery that I cooked until tender in equal amounts of butter and olive oil. I also added a package of "fruitlings" which are chopped up bits of dried fruit and a handful of slivered almonds and tossed the mixture well. This was much more flavorful and even though I didn't follow the recipe, I ended up creating a family favorite. Thanks for the staring poing Brandi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Was good...a little different, but after everyone tried it, they really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is a very good start for a delicious side dish. I cooked rice mixture in chicken broth, added toasted slivered almonds, minced green onion and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I took Josie's advice and added a bit of white rice (1/4 white to 3/4 wild). Also added the carrots, etc. she suggested. We loved the recipe and it was actually better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Good recipe after alterations. Be sure to season your rice and it is a family winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This one's very good, gives a unique flavoring to an otherwise boring side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States