Festive Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
In my opinion this was kind of bland as is but after some doctoring up, this turned out to be a delicious side dish. I used half wild rice and half white and added some sauteed carrots, onions and celery that I cooked until tender in equal amounts of butter and olive oil. I also added a package of "fruitlings" which are chopped up bits of dried fruit and a handful of slivered almonds and tossed the mixture well. This was much more flavorful and even though I didn't follow the recipe, I ended up creating a family favorite. Thanks for the staring poing Brandi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Good recipe after alterations. Be sure to season your rice and it is a family winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I cooked rice in chicken broth and added walnuts... great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Was good...a little different, but after everyone tried it, they really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is a very good start for a delicious side dish. I cooked rice mixture in chicken broth, added toasted slivered almonds, minced green onion and garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
FANTASTIC! THIS GETS RAVE REVIEWS WITH MY FAMILY AS WELL AS ME. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This had good flavor....I think the cranberries should be in smaller pieces. They were a turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This one's very good, gives a unique flavoring to an otherwise boring side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I took Josie's advice and added a bit of white rice (1/4 white to 3/4 wild). Also added the carrots, etc. she suggested. We loved the recipe and it was actually better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
After reading all the rave reviews I can't believe how blah this dish is. I think my mistake was using a suggested 1/3 white rice and 3/4 wild rice. The white rice turned to mush. I cooked the rice in beef broth. When done, I added onion, garlic, and celery cooked tender in a little olive oil along with the peas, cranberries, and toasted walnuts. Nothing saved it. It's still mush. I think with fluffy wild rice it would have been very good, just don't use white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States