Festive Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
A great side dish! A unanimous Easter dinner hit! No leftovers and the recipe went home with two happy families. I think next time I just might try decreasing the amount of butter by 1-2 tablespoons. (Howevewr, I can always go back to the original recipe if that is not satisfactory.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Absolutely yummy! I added a bit of fresh nutmeg to mine. This is basically a crustless onion quiche, and it is SO flavorful! Be sure to drain all of the butter/oil off of the cooked onions before adding them to the cream mixture. Sprinkle sweet paprika and dried parsley over the top for lovely color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This was very good. I did add some garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Made this last night and was pleasantly surprised! Tasted really good. I think I could've sliced more than 4 cups worth, though. I'm glad I used a 1 1/2 qt instead of a 2 qt casserole dish. I should have probably used a 1 qt dish. Be sure to use the 2/3 cup Parmesan. It gives a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I made this as a side dish for Passover dinner and it was delicious. The only adjustment was I used fat free half and half instead of cream to cut down on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Delicious and easy onion dish! I make it every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Used FF half-n-half, added a squirt of dijon and a little Frank's Hot Sauce. YUM. This would make an excellent starter for macaroni and cheese or thickened up, a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I can't get over how delicious this easy-to-prepare onion dish was. Make it per the instructions, and double the recipe, because it will *all* get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this to accompany a nice filet mignon. Made it as specified but added about a 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Not necessarily something I would serve in large quatities as a side but a very nice to accompaniment to any steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Outstanding!! This was so delicious on our Thanksgiving turkey & all mixed up w/my mashed potatoes. I'll be making this often. It's been gone for 2 days & I'm craving it again already. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States