Festival-Style Grilled Italian Sausage Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! We sliced the bell peppers and onions used a grill basket to cook them. Next time I will try spreading some olive oil and garlic over the bread and toasting them lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Oh my, there's nothing quite so tasty as a grilled Italian sausage sandwich! My husband and I are no strangers to making these and definitely feel you shouldn't have to wait for summer to have such a treat. We use both hot and sweet sausage and use red and green peppers along with the onion. We love grilling veggies and these give the sandwiches a nice smokiness. Be sure not to poke the sausages as you'll end up releasing all of those wonderful juices. I put my rolls under the broiler to get them nice and toasty. My husband tops his sandwich off with a spicy brown mustard, but I always top mine off with marinated cherry tomatoes. I cut them in half and marinate them at room temp. in a mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a bit of kosher salt, basil and oregano. For a quick and easy meal there's nothing that beats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this was recommended to me and am glad...i used both red and green peppers and mild italian sausage i so thought it was great comfort food and i made my own buns/rolls for them...thanx for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
It was good but not great. Made it exactly as recipe instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe turned out exactly how we expected it to. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I make these often and my family loves them! Try putting butter and fresh garlic on the bread before toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I used to make these sandwiches when my children were in high school. It was a family favorite. Never thought about blistering the peppers and just used the skillet. I always blister other types of peppers when I use them (poblano and anaheim) so maybe it's a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Delicious! Used foil to grill the chopped up onions and peppers with garlic powder, salt, pepper and olive oil as suggested by a previous reviewer. Very easy and tasty. Ate on whole wheat bun and now very full! Cooked baked beans on stove as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindseyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Your recipe is great. I have done it your way and love it but I would also like to suggest a "shortcut" on the veggies that comes out pretty tasty. You can cut up the peppers and onions and grill them OR buy what my grocer sells as a frozen "Fajita mix" of onions and peppers. Either way, put them in a foil pouch with a couple of ounces of olive oil, salt, pepper and a little chopped garlic, more if you like. Fold the foil up good so it doesn't leak all over and set your grill on fire. Just keep flipping the foil packet while your meat cooks and it wil turn out deeeeeeeelishous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
these were great. just what i was craving. i found that the veggies took a lot longer than the sausage though. will throw them on the grill first next time. i am new to grilling and although my sausage was a little well done, i was very proud of myself on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States