Festival-Style Grilled Italian Sausage Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
It was good but not great. Made it exactly as recipe instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe turned out exactly how we expected it to. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I make these often and my family loves them! Try putting butter and fresh garlic on the bread before toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I used to make these sandwiches when my children were in high school. It was a family favorite. Never thought about blistering the peppers and just used the skillet. I always blister other types of peppers when I use them (poblano and anaheim) so maybe it's a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Delicious! Used foil to grill the chopped up onions and peppers with garlic powder, salt, pepper and olive oil as suggested by a previous reviewer. Very easy and tasty. Ate on whole wheat bun and now very full! Cooked baked beans on stove as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindseyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Your recipe is great. I have done it your way and love it but I would also like to suggest a "shortcut" on the veggies that comes out pretty tasty. You can cut up the peppers and onions and grill them OR buy what my grocer sells as a frozen "Fajita mix" of onions and peppers. Either way, put them in a foil pouch with a couple of ounces of olive oil, salt, pepper and a little chopped garlic, more if you like. Fold the foil up good so it doesn't leak all over and set your grill on fire. Just keep flipping the foil packet while your meat cooks and it wil turn out deeeeeeeelishous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
these were great. just what i was craving. i found that the veggies took a lot longer than the sausage though. will throw them on the grill first next time. i am new to grilling and although my sausage was a little well done, i was very proud of myself on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Other than maybe Bobby Flay, I can think of no better grill master than hubby - and he says, "Don't poke the sausages!" Grill them over medium coals, till browned on all sides, about 12 minutes. They will be perfectly juicy and have that delightful "snap" when you bite into them. This sandwich is nothing new for us, but grilling the peppers and onions made all the difference in the world. Until now I had always cooked them in a skillet and while that's delicious too, it is no substitute for what the submitter intended in this recipe. I was really amazed at the difference the roasted, charred peppers and onions made, in color as well as taste. Out of this world good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe exactly. I'll be adding this one to my recipe box & using it often this summer!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coriandorlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I have been making these sandwiches on the stove for years, so I tried this recipe for the grilling method. OMG, the veggies were to die for. I could have just eaten them without the sausage. I can't wait to make more dishes with the grilled veggies....hum, fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States