Ferg's Ulster Fry-up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Belfast girl here to explain an ulster fry! An ulster fry is unique to ulster! I have one every weekend. It is a six county fry up ( an item for each county of ulster). Potato bread, soda bread, bacon, eggs, sausages and fried tomato or mushrooms, the last varies wherever you get it from. I've been eating ulster fries since I could chew and I have never had black pudding in my life, nor did my mummy, daddy, grandparents. It is an item from mainland united kingdom, also known as blood sausage? It originates from Lancashire. We don't have it in a traditional ulster fry here although a few hotels and restaurants have started to serve it over the years, along with hash browns, white pudding etc but it has no place in an ulster fry and I personally wouldn't be able to anything that shared a plate with it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm as Irish as they come - lived there, family there, etc and this recipe is great!! Don't forget the sauteed mushrooms and white pudding! Best hangover cure on earth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Go raibh maith agat, a Ita! Is maith liom é!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Ragan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I live in the States, but my Dad's from London, and I have many fond memories of having a "Full English Breakfast" very similar to this one as a kid. For those of us who live in the States and can't get the Irish bacon, sausages and black pudding from our local stores, there are some US-based online companies who offer these goods. I can personally recommend Tommy Moloney's I've ordered from them several times and have been very satisfied. It costs a little more than what you'd find at the supermarket, because of the shipping, but it's worth the splurge every so often. British/Irish rashers (bacon) and sausage are very different from the style we have here. Their bacon is much less fatty than ours. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made Ferg's Ulster Fry-up for last year's St Patrick's breakfast, & will make it again this year. I didn't make the mushrooms & blood sausage because I don't like those foods. I made both the Potato & the Soda Farls (on this site, also by Ita). This was very tasty, tho' will enjoy it only a couple of times a year, as it is all fried in bacon fat. The tomato is a great & very tasty addition; its acidity helps to cut the fattiness. I liked the Potato Farl better than the Soda Farl (bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
yum, yum, this sounds just like i remember it. I am German and have friends in Ireland. Always loved the people and food. now I know a local overprized pub serves a great irish breakfast like this, but I need to find a place get black pudding. oh and bangers too, we love mashed potatoes and bangers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have this breakfast once a year at my city's Celtic Classic. It truly does fill you up for the day! It's delicious! Diane Kolessar-Berl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm from Northern Ireland and you can get this entire meal for 99P or $1.50. We treat ourselves for breakast, lunch or even dinner. Recipes for potato farles and soda scones go back hundreds of years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for a special St. Patrick's Day breakfast for my family. I love how fast and easy it was to make -- I made it all (minus boiling and mashing the potatoes the night before for the Farl) in 30 mins! I did leave out the black pudding because after reading the ingredients it just didn't sound like something my family or I would like. I had no idea how much this was going to yield! I made everything to the specifications, and it was SO MUCH food! I have a family of 4, and easily could have cut the recipe in half and still had plenty. Like others have said, its not something you would want to have everyday - loaded with fat, carbs, and calories - but for a once-in-a-while treat, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Growing up in an Irish family (Dad was from Northern Ireland) My dad got black pudding and Irish sausages from the Irish butcher shop, they are so good, I live in Pa,USA, now and I can't get black pudding or Irish sausage here. When I visited my relitives in Northern Ireland, they made me this breakfast and it's fantastic. Can't wait to go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States