Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Yum. Followed the suggestion to add potatoes and to puree. Turned out great. I'll admit I was pretty skeptical about the fennel I received in my co-op box, but after trying this soup I would buy it outright. Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Dee-licious! Very easy, followed the recipe nearly to a T, although I seasoned the soup immediately after adding the broth (light garlic powder, salt, black pepper) and used a hand blender to cream it up a bit. One pot, few ingredients and fast for an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The only reason I made this was I received a fennel in my bountiful basket. I actually wasnt sure what it was at first. Anyways, I thought I would try this. It was awesome. My family loved it and there were no leftovers. I did add a few potatoes like others had and blended some of it to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Excellent! Easy to make. Healthy. Delicious. My kids love this soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I thought this soup was excellent, but would make some suggestions. I have never cooked with fennel and the ones I bought at the store were huge. I only bought two and thought it was plenty. I also did not realize the greens at the tops are too tough even if cooked, so just cut it down to the bulb. I did quarter my bulbs as instructed in the recipe but found it to be too big of pieces for a soup. I would advise cutting them into smaller pieces to make the soup easier to eat. I thought the 1/4 cup butter was the right amount because I had to brown so much fennel for the recipe. I agree with others that potatoe would make a nice addition to the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is the best soup Fennel soup I have ever had the pleasure of trying! It's beautiful. It's light yet there is so much flavor going on. It's a perfect winter soup, comfort food, anytime soup. It's a must try for anyone that loves a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
i found this soup to be very bland. it definitely needs onions and more oomph. it was too late to add onions, so i added white wine at the end, and served it w/ a garnish of toasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a nice soup, something different. Next time I will cook the fennel in my cast iron skillet first so that it browns more. I halved the butter and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I saw very skeptical, but this was so delicately flavored and delicious. I look forward to more fresh fennel next spring so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I can't believe how wonderful this simple recipe is. I had never had fennel before, but on a whim I bought some at the grocery store, and then had no idea what to do with it. Luckily I came across this recipe and it has been one of my favorite things ever since. I vary it occasionally, my favorite is to add a few shallots, a splash of half and half, and then puree until smooth. Awesome! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States