Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I admit I don't have much experience with eating fennel. With that said, this soup is okay. It gets stars for being very easy to make. I did not like the look of the soup and did what others did by blending it. It looks more appetizing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Yep, add diced potatoes. I added some celery too, just for fun. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe was delicious but it needed just a minor adjustment. I sautéed some potatoes with the fennel and then put the entire pot of soup in the blender and left it just a little chunky. I would definitely recommend this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
What a great recipe---minimal ingredients, easy to fix, and a very sophisticated, mild taste. If you like fennel at all, this is very tasty. Definitely something I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Wow I've never actually had fennel before and when I first smelled it and tasted it I thought of those Italian cookies. My family has a farm share and we get veggies every week and this week included fennel. This soup is so simple yet amazing! I too added the potatoes and it took a bit longer to cook to soften both produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Burgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I followed some of the other suggestions: added some diced potatoes, blended about 1/2 of the soup to create a more creamy mixture. I also added about 3/4 of a lb of sauteed loose mild Italian sausage at the end for extra flavor. A great meal, easy, cheap and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Really great simple soup. First time trying fennel and I love it. Added German baby potatoes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very tasty. I like to tinker with recipes so I added some basil. Right before serving, added dry fried garlic and dry fried red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
What a surprise, a great surprise. Like othee reviewers i added garlic powder, diced potatoes and i hand mixed the soup to break down most of the fennel into liquid, leaving some chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
So easy to make! And it tastes is simple and yummy. I was worried it was going to taste like black licorice (which I am not a fan of) but it just barely had a hint of it and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States