Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Tasty and easy to make. I made as directed and took the suggestion from another review to add cubed potatoes. I added two dollops of sour cream when cool and a dash of onion powder. Then I blended in food processor for a fancier soup. However, it was fine just as made from the stove. I thought the fronds would make a nice garnish but found them too tough and lacking the fennel flavor. This is a great alternative from the same old, same old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So easy and delicious. I get organic fruits/vegs delivered to my door, and my box contained fennel this week. I have never cooked with it before and decided to try this recipe. I only used 1 fennel bulb, and added cubed potato to bulk it up. I pureed some of it so that it had a creamy texture but still contained chunks of fennel and potato. I just ate 3 bowls.....I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I never knew how much I loved fennel until I tried this soup! It has a delicious, mild flavor; the flavor of the ingredients are really allowed to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wow! So wonderful and unexpected! I absolutely love this soup. I made it as a starter for a fancy dinner party, and everyone loved it. The first question was 'what is in this?' It seems most people have never even tried fennel. I made 2 changes. I cubed the fennel since my bulbs were large, and I used half veg broth and half chicken broth. This is one of my absolute favorite soup recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Classy, not to mention quick and easy to make! I don't really like anise, but really enjoyed this soup, it also reheats and freezes well; an added bonus ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicous!! And so easy! The fennel itself makes this seem like a complex blend of subtle flavors. I used chicken broth, pureed the soup, and it made a perfect, creamy comfort food. This will be a regular in my kitchen. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is a good recipe to use with fennel that isn't super fresh and tender. The flavor was excellent, and I enjoyed it, but I think it would be wonderful with some heavy cream, and maybe even some potato. I'll try that this weekend. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Good recipe - I didn't have vegetable broth on hand, so used water, some garlic powder, parsley, basil, dash of olive oil, and a small tomato. Fennel flavor is mild as others have said. I would definitely say the butter should be reduced, likely by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very tasty and easy soup! I used olive oil and added some spices but even without these changes I think it would've been good. The taste of fennel is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This could be the easiest 'fancy' recipe ever. Very delicious. Reheats well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States