Fennel Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Wonderful 5-STAR recipe! Make sure you eat it while it's warm (you'll find it hard to stop at just one slice!). Goes great with Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Oh yum! We loved this recipe! I reduced the sugar just a smidge and cooked this in my cast iron pan. I did not have buttermilk, so I added a teaspoon or two of white vinegar to regular 2% milk and let it sit about ten minutes before using it. The recipe certainly didn't seem to suffer because it came out fantastic. I served this hot out of the oven with corned beef and veggies. The loaf was huge, so we ate it for days as breakfast and with the leftover corned beef. If I can find a small cast iron pan, I'd like to try halving the recipe since there are only two of us. Thanks for helping this Irish girl make her first Irish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Had to give this bread 5 stars, to make sure I didn't hurt it's rating. Mine didn't turn out because I only had an 8-inch cake pan (which shouldn't hurt your rating, just my pride, lol). But, the part that stayed in the pan and did cook was really yummy. Fennel is good for tummy troubles so I was looking for a way to get it into my diet. This was delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a wonderful variation on soda bread. I wound up using 1 cup bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup AP because I needed to shop and it still came out just wonderful. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup and I think that is just enough. We prefer savory to sweet. I also baked it in a 8" square pan because I don't have a 10" cake pan and kept my fingers crossed that it would not over flow. Thank you for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by stacy32670
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was sooo good. The kids didnt like it but hubby and myself thinks its wonderful. So moist and full of flavor. Its similar to a succulent cornbread. Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was very good, but be warned, it is very cake-like in texture! I reduced the sugar by half because I wanted a more savory sort of bread, and it was still sweet and delicious. Once the leftovers get too tough to eat, try making French toast with it--it's surprisingly yummy for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very easy recipe and yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Loved it just as written. I should have cooked it the whole hour but it seemed done before then. It wasn't, even tho' it tested clean with a knife. I used a 9" springform pan which probably contributed to the 'rawness'. This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Wonderful! It has the flavor of a great Biscotti, but the texture of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States