Fennel Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very good! Smells absolutely divine when toasted. A definite favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GettnThinnr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really good - not too sweet or fennel tasting. My first time making soda bread and am surprised how moist & high it is. I served it at room temperature spread with butter and will try it toasted today...will make again, as well as try other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is simple, quick and one of the best textures I have seen. I substituted half whole wheat flour and added some crushed flax seeds for extra nourishment. Truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wow, yummy. Had no buttermilk, so I did half 0% fat greek yogurt and half soured milk. Figured my fennel seeds had been around a few years, so I first placed them within some wax paper and whacked them with the metal mallett to release flavor. Fun project for adult son and I to easily make on St. Pat's Day, and everyone loved the aroma, and taste. I used a 10" diameter pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is really very good and so, so easy. I had to bake mine in a rectangular pan, but it turned out great. The fennel taste is there, but it's not overpowering. I served it with Cheeseburger Vegetable Soup made with Johnsonville Italian Sausage instead of ground beef, and the fennel in the sausage was a wonderful compliment to this delicious bread. Definitely will be making this one again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
When I saw the fennel in this I was intrigued and decided to make half the recipe in an 8" cake pan. This baked up beautifully. The taste was good, the fennel was subtle and I liked it the first day. The second day the crust had lost some of it's crispness and wasn't nearly as good. To salvage it, I decided to toast it which did improve it somewhat. I doubt that I'll be making this one again, but it was fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is some of the best bread i've ever made. Was so good, took some to work to share in the goodness. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Made recipe as written. Was orginally made to go with sausage and beans but was so good, we finished the bread and put the sausage and beans in the fridge for leftovers. There was no leftover bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Incredible! This was the best soda bread recipe I've tried. I'd compare the sweetness to cornbread. The amount of fennel seed was perfect. It was great on its own, in an open-faced sausage sandwich, and in French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
An easy addition to any meal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States