Fennel Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A most excellent side dish, especially because this was the first time I made it. It took a little longer than I expected to get the crunch out of the rice, but the end result was worth the effort. Used chicken stock instead of vegetable, some fresh asparagus on the side, and a half chicken breast braised in olive oil and garlic with a little soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very tasty. I substituted half and half for heavy cream and used homemade chicken broth. I halved the recipe based on quantities I had on hand and ended up with more than enough to serve as a side dish to my family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Wonderful vegetarian recipe! Just a few minor changes - I used light thick cream and also added some fresh mushrooms as well. Also used fresh parsley which I think gives it a bit more flavour than dried. Tasted quite yummy with some white wine! We were meant to have it as entrees before the roast turkey but hubby went back for a second plate in lieu of the main course...! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Next time I'll use more vegetables in proportion to the rice (personal preference). I added mushrooms to the fennel and onion; I'll try zucchini in addition to that. I cut everything into large bite-size chunks, BTW, which worked well. The fennel was absolutely delicious in this context. I didn't have enough heavy cream so I used sour cream and milk to make up the 1 cup -- came out beautifully. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Ok but not great. If I ever decide to make this dish again (which I doubt), I will dice the fennel real small. The big slices of fennel were too crunchy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Tasty. I thought the amount of fennel would be too much, but it isn't. I did find it too rich with the whipping cream so now I don't use it at all, I just increase the amount of broth. It still comes out creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is the best risotto I have ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
yummy risotto! First time making Risotto from scratch and it was great. Wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I added peas to this recipe and replaced the parmesan and cream with goats cheese - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was delicious. The flavor had a slight sweet taste (thank you fennel!) but wasn't extremely overpowering. It was creamy and wonderful. YUM! I made it for Christmas dinner alongside fennel roast rabbit and lemon basil carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States