Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Perfect recipe. In the last 15 min or so, try adding in yellow squash. They are great together, and when served with lightly spiced chickpeas, you've got a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good dish. Easy too cook and inexpensive. Started trying "unique/different" vegetables after getting burned out on green beans and corn. The family liked it and was rated a "WILL COOK AGAIN".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin car guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I liked. David wasn't crazy about. Wouldn't want to eat all the time, but an interesting item to add to my overall diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Absolutely delicious. A wonderful way to incorporate fennel into my repitoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at cooking fennel. This was a great recipe, but I did need to make some changes (lack of ingredients). I omitted the chicken broth and white wine. Instead, I added some water. And I substituted some Dijon mustard for the mustard seeds. I really liked the end result and will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I love this recipe! It has become one of my staple go-tos for a meal because it is so quick and flavourful! I usually make it as a side with my sherry bacon cream brussel sprouts and it is ALWAYS a winner! Also: I now use roasted mustard seed in almost all of my recipes, so thank you Winelover 813! And thanks to Shari P. for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very tasty and would make a great side dish for lamb or veal chops. It was easy to prepare and I found that 1 large fennel bulb worked for the 2 of us. I also substituted 1 tsp mustard for the seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
The wine and honey balances out the licorice taste of the fennel. It's a great recipe. I scaled it down ONE fennel bulb for 2 people, used cooking sherry instead, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
the taste was very subtle. but I'm sure it could be paired with a fish or some other lite meat when you are in the mood for a light but tasty meal. I give it a thumbs up. It was easy to prepare, just takes a long time to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B_Dexterous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Capitol Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States