Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is my first review. I saw that this had no reviews and couldn't understand why after I tried this. Fantastic! Easy! I used regular musturd and all chicken broth since I had no wine. The fennel came out so tender and full of flavor. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Delicious and simple recipe. I used water because I didn't have broth, but it was still great. It's so nice to take a break from the more common veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very easy and good. A nice change. I used water instead of chicken broth, and I think using chicken broth will make it even better. Also, next time I make this I'm going to crush the mustard seed or cook the mustard seed in the oil on high heat, then lower it and add everything else, to try and bring out the mustard flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe for fennel. The flavor was really good. I used just a little bit less honey and a tiny bit more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I made this last night, approximately halving the recipe and it was really tasty. I love fennel and this is a great (and easy) way to make it. It was just as good today cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Delicious, subtle fennel flavor! I boil rice in the leftover liquid after and serve the fennel on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I have never been a fan of anise, so I was a little worried about this recipe, but WOW! The anise flavor tones down as the fennel cooks, and the wine, honey, and mustard seed make a marvelous sauce. I cooked the dish a little hotter than suggested (I was in a hurry) and the fennel sort of caramelized on the bottom of the pan. De-lish! Hubby and I ate most of it with dinner last night, and I had the rest for breakfast this morning. We'll definitely be making it again! The only down side... I now have a pile of fennel tops that I don't know what to do with. Guess it's time for more research!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Scanlon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I don't know. This just isn't that good. It isn't BAD, either. I used what I suspect is a too-wide saucepan and the liquid mainly evaporated out, leaving very bland fennel resting on some thick overcooked sauce that honestly isn't anything to write home about. I would give it a three, but I'll go with a four to account for potential user error. Word of caution - use a narrow saucepan so that your fennel gets to steep in the liquid for longer than mine did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I would have to agree with "Danny Boy" on this one. It wasn't terrible but I certainly did not think it was great, either. After reading the rave reviews from others I decided to try this. I have had roasted fennel before and liked it, but wanted to try a different preparation. I used chicken broth and alcohol-free white wine for the liquid and sprinkled dry mustard powder on the fennel instead of mustard seed. The fennel was certainly quite tender when done, but as "Danny" wrote, it didn't have much flavor to it. I had hoped for something more spectacular esp after what I paid for the fennel bulbs! Perhaps it would have been improved if I'd used real wine instead of the kind with no alcohol, but since others said they had made it using only broth I thought it would be OK. I would have to say I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
YUMMY! I cut up my fennel, roasted my mustard seed first and then added the rest of the ingredients and....YUMMY... the most interesting combination I could have come up with... a little sweet and savory. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States