Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
awesome! Will make again and again! I had no wine so I just used the other ingredients, and it was still excellent. I am excited to taste how great it will be with wine next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Delicious! My first time making fennel, and it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very good recipe, nice flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
was not the perfect compliment to the fennel flavor. i have had many much better fennel recipes. all the stems were worthless in this recipe too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I enjoyed the flavour of this dish, but cut the fennel into strips and tossed it in the other ingredients, then I sauteed it for about 15 minutes. It turned out well, and was an interesting change for me. Salmon and snap peas made for a healthful dinner. I would make this again, and maybe try with pine nuts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I had to increase the heat to a simmer and extend the cooking time to make sure the fennel was tender, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I am giving the recipe 3 starts only because I was not particularly fond of it. My boyfriend enjoyed it over rice. I never ate fennel before and do not like licorice/anise so I am not surprised that I did not like it. Easy to make but just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
The dish was certainly tasty, and I liked it, but it wasn't a major hit on my dinner table. I think it's the fennel itself that was off-putting, not the recipe. I used regular mustard, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and I enjoyed the dish overall. I don't use fennel a lot, but with the right overall meal, I think this is a nice addition. Something to make now and then as a surprise side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
YUMMY! I cut up my fennel, roasted my mustard seed first and then added the rest of the ingredients and....YUMMY... the most interesting combination I could have come up with... a little sweet and savory. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I would have to agree with "Danny Boy" on this one. It wasn't terrible but I certainly did not think it was great, either. After reading the rave reviews from others I decided to try this. I have had roasted fennel before and liked it, but wanted to try a different preparation. I used chicken broth and alcohol-free white wine for the liquid and sprinkled dry mustard powder on the fennel instead of mustard seed. The fennel was certainly quite tender when done, but as "Danny" wrote, it didn't have much flavor to it. I had hoped for something more spectacular esp after what I paid for the fennel bulbs! Perhaps it would have been improved if I'd used real wine instead of the kind with no alcohol, but since others said they had made it using only broth I thought it would be OK. I would have to say I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States