Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. The bulbs were tough even after simmering for over 45min. And the honey and wine were completely overwhelmed by the flavor of the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed the directions exactly but I just didn't think it had that much flavor. It was okay, but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly thought it was great! Next time I may cut down on the cook time as I like my veggies to stay on the firm side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
my husband loves fennel. this was a very nice side dish. pleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent. If you like fennel at all, you should try this. It goes together with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Yummy - I love putting this on top of a bed of greens. Fennel is one of my new favorite veggies and I have loved learning different ways to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this yesterday for dinner. The Fennel was smooth and tender but there wasn't that typical fennel aroma. I liked it very much. My wife said it tastes very good but she couldn't say if she liked it as she missed the usually strong fennel aroma with cooked fennel. I definetely will do it again. It's a great variety for fennel lovers. It could be also great for people who hate that typical fennel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used the bulb and the stems for this. Maybe that was a mistake. Generally this didn't have a lot of flavor - I made it just as directed in the recipe. (and I LIKE fennel) I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Tasted very good, I always wanted to try using this interesting bulb, but where in the recipe does it tell you what to do with the wine, should it be sipped as it's cooking? I did add it to the stock and honey mixture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is my new favorite way to make fennel. I sub vegetable stock for chicken, as I am vegetarian. Even people who don't like fennel might like it this way. I've already converted one person, myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States