Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved this and couldn't get enough of this. It was great cold as well. Didn't have mustard seed or dry mustard, so used about 2 tsp. of grey poupon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Not awful. Not great. We could all eat it, but none of us had any specific desire to do so. Like others, I had expected more flavor. Probably won't make again - thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is the first time have eaten fennel. I love this veggie and the recipe was simple and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
To shorten the cooking time, I sliced the fennel, added sliced yellow onions, and a little garlic and sauted it all in olive oil. Then I added the chicken broth, wine, and the rest of the ingredients, and let it simmer. It was ready in 20 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This turned out really nice. I probably had to cook the fennel for 1.5 hours to get it really tender. I kept adding a bit of chicken broth to the pan because the broth kept evaporating. This is a very unique way to eat fennel! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was wonderful! I didn't have white wine, but I used dry sherry (don't use "cooking sherry", as it's loaded with salt and you can find a good quality sherry that's good to drink for cooking.) Like another reviewer, do make sure the cooking liquid is simmering or it will take longer than 45 minutes. Thank you, shari p. for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Sliced up and sauteed in the ingredients for 30 minutes. I now have a favorite new vegetable that my whole family loves...picky kids included!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Recipce was easy I guess I am just not a fan of fennel bulbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
As my first foray into fennel, I was bummed. The recipe sounds delicious, smells divine while cooking, I was so anxious for a new taste and ... nothing. Bland. I was so disappointed. I'll give fennel another try with a different recipe. Hopefully it's the cook not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Perfect recipe. In the last 15 min or so, try adding in yellow squash. They are great together, and when served with lightly spiced chickpeas, you've got a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States