Fennel Cucumber Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is really good! I made it once without the fennel because it was unavailable, then again when I found it in a grocery store. Great both times! The flavors combine well, and it looks nice. I have been eating this as a salad, not salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This salsa recipe is just so yummy and fresh for summer cooking! I had some fennel that I got from our local CSA that I needed to cook, so I found this recipe here - thanks so much for posting it! It is fresh tasting, a bit crunchy, and is great either with pita crisps or other semi-salty chips, OR even better served over grilled salmon or chicken! I added a bit of lime juice too, and added an additional avocado, and used a regular cucumber from the CSA too, and it was perfect! I think you could also add a little dijon mustard (1/4 t. or so) or a dash or two of green Tabasco to kick it up a bit... but otherwise, it's perfect as is! My semi-picky husband and 6-year-old daughter loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I belong to a farm share, of which we sometimes get fennel in our share. Having no idea what to do with my fennel, it said sadly in the back of the refrigerator. On a quest for salsa recipes (for all my tomatoes) I ran across this and gave it a try. Amazing! I've made it a couple of times for cookouts, with rave reviews from the guests. My only change is that I used fresh lime juice in place of lemon juice, and I left out the banana peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I tossed this with arugula and had it as a salad, and it was very good. I doubled the avocado and used shallot rather than red onion (I prefer the milder flavor), and I used a touch of olive oil to soften up the arugula. Next time, I'll add more banana peppers for more of a tangy/sweet kick. A nice, light, flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is freakin awesome!!!!!!! Thank you, you wonderful women. It has changed my life!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I had fennel I got from the CSA program from a local farm. Having never used fennel before, I didn't know what to do with it until I came across this recipe. FANTASTIC! It's light, fresh, crisp and perfect for hot summer days! Everyone loved it and now they are even requesting I bring it to BBQ's! I used lime juice instead of lemon though, as I read in other reviews. We ate it with pita chips. I will definietly make this a summertime staple. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a great combo of flavors. I made it without the avocado and the peppers as I didn't have those. We had it with tortillas, warmed refried beans and falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Surprisingly good. I added in a little tomatillo-jalepeno sauce my husband whipped up for something else, just to give it a little bite. Also a finely diced beet for color. We used it in a burrito and also in salad, and it added both flavor and crunch. I'm making it to hand out to friends. Didn't have avocados and didn't miss them. Not something I'd eat tons of, but definitely fun and different and tasty, and very easy. Nice change-of-pace and party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy! The only changes I made were using shallots instead of onion, and agave instead of honey. Eating it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Just made this for a Salsa contest for Cinco de Mayo - and I took 2nd place! It is wonderful blend of flavors - worth 10 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States